We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel with great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homestead Villa Motel
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The suite we stayed in was huge, with very good facilities. Everything was very clean and luxurious. Staff was very friendly and helpful (they even gave us some bread to feed the ducks in the park!). (Cooked) breakfast was served in the room and of good quality.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_Janneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 140 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We have just had 3 nights staying at this lovely motel complex.
We were lucky enough to stay in The Suite,
The rooms were huge.
The bathroom had a corner spa bath big enough for 3, and one of the 3 flat screen TV'S was in the bathroom.
Another plus in the bathroom, was a separate toilet.
We had a kitchen, dining, lounge area as well as a separate sitting area with a desk and Internet connection.
And the bedroom was very spacious with another telly.
We had a ranch slider that went out to a balcony.
There is a laundry which was free to use and they even provide the laundry liquid.
The staff-we only really had dealings with Debbie, who from my first call to book in June, was the most bubbly motel/hotel receptionist I've met, who has been there nearly 10 years.
I can't wait to go down and stay again.
When you book, of course you can't stay anywhere else, let them no you read a good review on trip advisor.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked a one bedroom apartment for a weekend to Invercargill to catch up with some friends and a birthday. It was great- really spacious and nothing was too much trouble from a service perspective. Easy access and good location as base to get where we wanted to go. Clean and efficient. Heating on was appreciated - always a lovely temperature.

Room Tip: We had a room on the road side but it was still nice and quiet - choose a one bedroom apartment - ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacky9b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is the sceond time I've stayed at the Homestead Villa, and yet again I've found it very nice, with a big comfortable and well appointed room.
I was in Invercargill for work and after a long day it's was pleasure to stay the night in.
I stayed one night mid August 2012. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Invercargill is a long way from homes- in fact it is a long way from anywhere - but just as the city does itself proud, so does this place. Was bitterly cold and wet when I arrived but my room was warm - they had turned the heater on. Front desk was so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great. Two very comfortable nights in the most inhospitable of climates!

Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank PedroNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadVillas, Manager at Homestead Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Thank you for the lovely comments!

Despite the weather, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and we hope you will come to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We were on a 18 day road trip in our motor home and we need to get out of it to stretch our legs and enjoy a bath.This place ticked all the boxes for me. Front office was excellent and couldn't be more helpful and actually offered me her car to pop down to town for a bottle, very thoughtful. We shot over the road for diner and enjoyed that. The apartment was great and well set up all you need for breacky and a great warm stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway, quite busy, and close to the laundry,handy for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank touringcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadVillas, Manager at Homestead Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Thank you for your comments!

We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to go above and beyond for our guests and we hope you will come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for a night. We asked for a quiet room due to having an early start in the morning so we were given a downstairs room around the back. The room did not get any noise from the road but you could hear every move the people upstairs made.It sounded like they had lead feet so I would never have a downstairs room again.otherwise the rooms were a good size and warm with comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liztdunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadVillas, Manager at Homestead Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Thank you for your comments.

Im very sorry to hear about the noise the people above you made!

Don't forget you can ring reception anytime and we also have a manager on-site to assist with any problems that may arise throughout the night.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
2.3 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
391 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
328 reviews
1.3 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#15 of 33 in Invercargill
182 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 33 in Invercargill
103 reviews
1.4 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Villa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Villa Motel

Address: Cnr Avenal and Dee Streets, Invercargill, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#4 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#10 Family Hotel in Invercargill
#10 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range: $75 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Homestead Villa Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homestead Villa Motel offers you premium accommodation and location, only minutes to Invercargill’s major recreation spots, sporting facilities and city centre. Only a block to our picturesque, feature packed Queens Park, golf course, museum and art gallery. Just 10 minutes stroll to the city centre. Short drive to Stadium Southland & the Velodrome, Splash Palace, Rugby Park, hospital and airport. Adjacent Cobb & Co restaurant and bar and within walking distance to many fine dining options. Spacious, comfortable rooms offering stylish, modern decor. Quality amenities with all the extras, including our special breakfast menu to tantalize your taste buds.Ideal for the business traveller at the hub of Invercargill’s commercial district, the leisure/family travellers for activities and sightseeing plus the convenience and facilities suitable for all sporting, recreation and performing tour groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Homestead Villa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Villa Motel Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing