We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel rather than hotel”
Review of Ascot Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ascot Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights as part of a tour group. The first thing we noticed was how remote from town the hotel was. However as a group we secured complimentary hotel transport from Southland Museum.
We had a chalet style bedroom with a large double and a single bed. The bathroom was large but rather Spartan. The weather was poor but the radiators wand towel rail warmed the room adequately. The reading light over the bed was too bight and not restricted to the one person reading.
We ate in the bar and the restaurant. Both were good, but we thought the bar was better value.
The hotel is better than average but we would rate it as "Good" rather than "Very Good".

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a long walk through internal corridors if you want to use the restaurant and b...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tynes1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments with respect to the Hotel following your recent stay. It was great to hear that your group were able to use the Hotel's couretsy van to get into the city and explore.
The Hotel has 3 dining options being the Tavern, Emberz Bar and Emberz Restaurant. All have different price and service points to ensure our clients have a range of options to suit their pockets.
While all the accommodation is on one level at the Ascot Park Hotel, on many occasions guests enjoy the opportunity to park directly outside their rooms as the result. We are happy to discuss with any client a requirement to move rooms if alerted to a problem and where circumstances allow.
Communication is the key to ensuring your stay at the Ascot Park Hotel is a great one! If you need assistance we are here to help you.
Warm regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
There are newer reviews for Ascot Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 377 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed in the motel and it was value for money. Room was spacious and newspapers provided. It comes with a fully equipped kitchenette. I'll stay here again if I am back in Invercargill. My husband went to the sport bar at the hotel side and met friendly locals there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agathabryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you for staying at the Ascot Park Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that your husband enjoyed sharing a drink with the locals. Hope that you are able to return again.
Best Regards
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed at the Ascot on polytech field trip and the service was absolutely amazing. Had a chat with the manager and he was just so polite and down to earth. Rooms were spacious, clean with spotless shower. Would definitely stay there again if I do get a chance. Keep up the good work guys.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rutu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you Rutu for posting this response. I look forward to seeing you again as your study gets more intensive.
Best Regards
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

AScort Park excellent place to stay . Rooms and food is really awesome yumm food especialy dessert. Staff is really help full. The location is very pleasent . Over all every thing is excellent

Thanks Mr.Peter Ridsdale

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Man D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you for this positive review.We look forward to seeing you agin at the Ascot Park Hotel.
Cheers
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were very impressed by the efficiency and helpfulness of the staff at this hotel. We arrived at 12 and although check in is at 2pm they phoned up to see if the room was ready. Whilst they finished servicing the room we had a coffee and were able to get into the room. Accommodation is in chalet-style rooms which although not chic or stylish are nonetheless large and comfortable.
When we noticed there was an issue with the heater (pumping out heat although turned off), The duty manager, Sue, dealt with it promptly and efficiently. The matter was dealt with swiftly and we were given a drink on the house - a nice gesture.
We ate in the restaurant. Good food and wine. Excellent service.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for this very positive review. Glad to hear that we fixed the heater promptly and that Sue looked after you.
Have a great day!
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Nice big room, very quiet at night so good night sleep. Staff very helpful and friendly, courtesy couch great as taxi's aren't cheap. Only ate breakfast there but food was nice and again staff were friendly, nice easy stay. Had afew drinks at taven on site and played some pool, the bar inside hotel was also nice and tidy.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Lanzcrystalight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Great to think that you were able to enjoy a night away from the Island and enjoy a quiet time out at the Ascot Park Hotel.
Thank you for staying.
Best Regards
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had just about given up hope of finding somewhere to stay in Invercargill when we came across the Ascot Park Hotel. This Hotel has hotel rooms and motel rooms, bars and a restaurant in the hotel and also a tavern. It is all you could want. Hotel rooms are spacious and have all amenities. We cannot comment on the motel rooms as we did not see them. It is a fair way into town, but if you want a drink and a meal then it is all there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penny p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you Penny for thiis warm review. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Best Regards
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
1.6 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
319 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#16 of 33 in Invercargill
173 reviews
2.3 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#4 of 33 in Invercargill
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
3.3 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
2.4 mi away
Victoria Railway Hotel
Victoria Railway Hotel
#1 of 15 in Invercargill
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Park Hotel

Address: Corner Tay Street and Racecourse Road, Invercargill 9840, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#3 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#4 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#5 Family Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range: $83 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Invercargill's largest accommodation property, the Ascot Park Hotel is Qualmark rated 4 Star, comprising of 116 Hotel, Motel and Suite accommodation. Set in park like surrounds the Ascot Park Hotel is the ideal place to stay with ample car parking, indoor heated pool and fitness centre. The award winning Emberz Bar and Restaurant is the ideal place to dine or wind down after a busy day. A wide choice of Conference facilities are also offered for your business needs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascot Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Park Invercargill
Ascot Park Hotel Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing