We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a quick stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ascot Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ascot Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
135 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just a quick stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Invercargill was just a quick stop for us the route down south. We came from town and could not immediately find the hotel, we missed a big sign.
The room itself had one door into the hotel and one to the veranda where we could park the car as well. So this was very convenient. We did not try the restaurants as we headed out for dinner, and catered our own breakfast. I actually wanted to take a swim, but well the pool is just four times my lenght, so not too much of a swim there. Ow I almost forgot to mention that the bathtub is quite large :-).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohanHagendijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Ascot Park Hotel. Trust you are enjoying a slightly damp summer!
Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    145
    38
    5
    1
See reviews for
60
117
20
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
mosgiel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have stayed here numerous times and this time was just as good as the other times. We had the couples package that included a meal in the restaurant. This was lovely. We were in the hotel and had a great room.

Room Tip: Motels can be noisy with traffic. But doesn't seem to be a problem in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepperkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Glad.... no thrilled to think that we delivered the real deal and you had such an awesome stay. Great to be able to pass your feedback on to the team!
Cheers
Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

We got a couple deal from their website $187 including 3 courses meal for a couple, a bottle of wine and chocolates, this is the best deal we ever bought. The portion of meals are 'huge' and yummy. Ascot Park hotel is always my first choice of hotel if we are going Invercargill for shopping because of its location, parking, spa pool, cleanness and security. Looking forward they will have more deals coming out beside existing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tulips201367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Great feedback from a great deal!
Thanks for trying us out!
Cheers
Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Great location, we had a drive from Dunedin and got to Invercargill late. Very accommodating. Great bar and food, just what we needed. The motel room, No 1, was a perfect size. Breakfast in the hotel was what we needed.

Faults, really.....none

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lord_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Ascot Park Hotel and this warm response!
Happy Holidays.
Cheers
Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Each November we are accommodated at the Ascot to attend the Burt Munro Challenge week – usually known as "The Burt".
As usual the rooms were 5 star as is the service, restaurant, facilities and all you would expect. Quiet and relaxing. And the gardens ... well just great and well cared for.

Room Tip: Room choice depends on your activities a bit. If you frequently want to spend time in the business...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
The Burt Munro Weekend is the largest on the Southland events calendar. For my team we find the warm and humour of touring motorcyclists to match our hotel culture and we love to have these happy travellers staying at the Ascot Park Hotel.
This event promises to grow year on year and we look forward to welcoming bikers to this Hotel and Southland for many years to come.
Cheers
Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

The Ascot Park Hotel has a variety of rooms on a large complex (motel through hotel) so the choices could suit multiple needs. Our room was a standard hotel and it was a neat, no-frills set-up which was clean with a nice bath. The property is outside of the City Center so to get to the city itself you either have to drive or catch the hotel shuttle. On the property is a pool and spa but a room key does not give access, arrangements must be made at the front desk which is a little off putting. There is a bottle store on the property which is nice but the bar itself is very cozy with quite a few nice beers on draft. Also on premises is the Embarz restaurant (reviewed under restaurants if you are interested).

My preference would have been to be in the City Center but it that is not important there is no reason not to consider this hotel.

Room Tip: Most rooms should be quiet since they are not too close to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doylehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thanks you for posting this comprehensive review on the Hotel.
Pool and spa access at the Ascot Park Hotel is through a key system at reception purely for security purposes. We do not have a lifeguard on duty at any time and unlimited guest access in a full service hotel is not compliant with our internal H & S standards. With good numbers of families staying we have found this policy fit for purpose. Sorry to have let you down in this area but for me safety is paramount.
While 4km out of the City Centre, being surrounded by park like grounds with a fully accessible free courtesy van we believe that we have the best of both worlds for customers without the traffic noise!
The Ascot Park Hotel has a range of room types as pointed out in this review from very cost effective Motels to top of the line Apartment & Deluxe style rooms. At less than $180, a four star experience is just $30.00 more than a Classic (standard room). We believe the experience worth the step up.
Happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed one night in a Deluxe King room. The check in was friendly but had to wait a long time at check out as there was only one member of staff dealing with a long telephone call.
The room was modern and clean, we particularly liked the screen door which blocked off the bed from the living room area, the spa bath and free WiFi up to 200MB for 3 devices.
We did not use the restaurant or the swimming pool. There was some noise from the racecourse but it was not a nuisance.
You need a car to drive into town if you are not eating in the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwyndolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you Gwyndolen for choosing to stay at the Ascot Park Hotel during your Invercargill stay!
I hope that you enjoyed both Invercargill city and the greater sights in Southland while down this way.
Glad to see that you enjoyed your room and were aware of the Hotel facilities. Hope to see you again soon.
Best Regards
Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
1.6 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#15 of 33 in Invercargill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.6 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#3 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
3.3 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#10 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Park Hotel

Property: Ascot Park Hotel
Address: Corner Tay Street and Racecourse Road, Invercargill 9840, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#3 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#4 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#5 Family Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Invercargill's largest accommodation property, the Ascot Park Hotel is Qualmark rated 4 Star, comprising of 116 Hotel, Motel and Suite accommodation. Set in park like surrounds the Ascot Park Hotel is the ideal place to stay with ample car parking, indoor heated pool and fitness centre. The award winning Emberz Bar and Restaurant is the ideal place to dine or wind down after a busy day. A wide choice of Conference facilities are also offered for your business needs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascot Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Park Invercargill
Ascot Park Hotel Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing