We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value of money - couple deal”
Review of Ascot Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ascot Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We got a couple deal from their website $187 including 3 courses meal for a couple, a bottle of wine and chocolates, this is the best deal we ever bought. The portion of meals are 'huge' and yummy. Ascot Park hotel is always my first choice of hotel if we are going Invercargill for shopping because of its location, parking, spa pool, cleanness and security. Looking forward they will have more deals coming out beside existing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tulips201367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Great feedback from a great deal!
Thanks for trying us out!
Cheers
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
There are newer reviews for Ascot Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 377 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

Great location, we had a drive from Dunedin and got to Invercargill late. Very accommodating. Great bar and food, just what we needed. The motel room, No 1, was a perfect size. Breakfast in the hotel was what we needed.

Faults, really.....none

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Lord_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Ascot Park Hotel and this warm response!
Happy Holidays.
Cheers
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Each November we are accommodated at the Ascot to attend the Burt Munro Challenge week – usually known as "The Burt".
As usual the rooms were 5 star as is the service, restaurant, facilities and all you would expect. Quiet and relaxing. And the gardens ... well just great and well cared for.

Room Tip: Room choice depends on your activities a bit. If you frequently want to spend time in the business...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

The Burt Munro Weekend is the largest on the Southland events calendar. For my team we find the warm and humour of touring motorcyclists to match our hotel culture and we love to have these happy travellers staying at the Ascot Park Hotel.
This event promises to grow year on year and we look forward to welcoming bikers to this Hotel and Southland for many years to come.
Cheers
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The Ascot Park Hotel has a variety of rooms on a large complex (motel through hotel) so the choices could suit multiple needs. Our room was a standard hotel and it was a neat, no-frills set-up which was clean with a nice bath. The property is outside of the City Center so to get to the city itself you either have to drive or catch the hotel shuttle. On the property is a pool and spa but a room key does not give access, arrangements must be made at the front desk which is a little off putting. There is a bottle store on the property which is nice but the bar itself is very cozy with quite a few nice beers on draft. Also on premises is the Embarz restaurant (reviewed under restaurants if you are interested).

My preference would have been to be in the City Center but it that is not important there is no reason not to consider this hotel.

Room Tip: Most rooms should be quiet since they are not too close to the road.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doylehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thanks you for posting this comprehensive review on the Hotel.
Pool and spa access at the Ascot Park Hotel is through a key system at reception purely for security purposes. We do not have a lifeguard on duty at any time and unlimited guest access in a full service hotel is not compliant with our internal H & S standards. With good numbers of families staying we have found this policy fit for purpose. Sorry to have let you down in this area but for me safety is paramount.
While 4km out of the City Centre, being surrounded by park like grounds with a fully accessible free courtesy van we believe that we have the best of both worlds for customers without the traffic noise!
The Ascot Park Hotel has a range of room types as pointed out in this review from very cost effective Motels to top of the line Apartment & Deluxe style rooms. At less than $180, a four star experience is just $30.00 more than a Classic (standard room). We believe the experience worth the step up.
Happy holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed one night in a Deluxe King room. The check in was friendly but had to wait a long time at check out as there was only one member of staff dealing with a long telephone call.
The room was modern and clean, we particularly liked the screen door which blocked off the bed from the living room area, the spa bath and free WiFi up to 200MB for 3 devices.
We did not use the restaurant or the swimming pool. There was some noise from the racecourse but it was not a nuisance.
You need a car to drive into town if you are not eating in the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwyndolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thank you Gwyndolen for choosing to stay at the Ascot Park Hotel during your Invercargill stay!
I hope that you enjoyed both Invercargill city and the greater sights in Southland while down this way.
Glad to see that you enjoyed your room and were aware of the Hotel facilities. Hope to see you again soon.
Best Regards
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed for 1 night, check in ok, room very tired and not value for money! Room Service Club Sandwich was Excellent, breakfast staff were very attentive. Check in and check out staff seemed preoccupied with other things. Bed not comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Hi John
Thanks for your taking the time to file your report on the Ascot Park Hotel. I do not have enough detail to reserach further where in the Hotel you stayed. I am disapointed that we did meet expectations and would like the opportunity to fix-it for next time around. Please feel free to contact me direct if you would like to discuss this further.
Best Regards
Peter Ridsdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is a great hotel. Stayed in a superior hotel room (111). Nice, new decoration abd furnishings and nice workspaces. Really good bathroom. Curtains blocked out light very effectively (a major bug bear of mine in NZ hotels is very poor curtains and hence very light rooms). Restaurant food was high quality.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffrocowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you Judith for staying at the Ascot Park Hotel. Great to see that you benifited from a complimentary upgrade and that my team and the Hotel performed to your expectations.
Make sure that you return again soon.
Many Thanks
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
1.6 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
319 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#16 of 33 in Invercargill
173 reviews
2.3 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#4 of 33 in Invercargill
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
3.3 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
2.4 mi away
Victoria Railway Hotel
Victoria Railway Hotel
#1 of 15 in Invercargill
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Park Hotel

Address: Corner Tay Street and Racecourse Road, Invercargill 9840, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#3 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#4 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#5 Family Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range: $83 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Invercargill's largest accommodation property, the Ascot Park Hotel is Qualmark rated 4 Star, comprising of 116 Hotel, Motel and Suite accommodation. Set in park like surrounds the Ascot Park Hotel is the ideal place to stay with ample car parking, indoor heated pool and fitness centre. The award winning Emberz Bar and Restaurant is the ideal place to dine or wind down after a busy day. A wide choice of Conference facilities are also offered for your business needs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascot Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Park Invercargill
Ascot Park Hotel Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing