We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, warm and great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ascot Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ascot Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Comfortable, warm and great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Large hotel complex which still manages to make those staying feel welcome and have their needs met. Very friendly and helpful staff. Big rooms including huge bathroom. Very comfortable bed and restaurant food excellent. I'll definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks Chris for this positive response to the Hotel's services and facilities!
We look forward to seeing you soon.
Cheers
Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    145
    38
    5
    1
See reviews for
60
116
20
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great southern hotel with friendly staff . Nice warm hotel.
Big complex with beautiful gardens.
Spacious rooms with windows that open.
Restaurant was of good standard.
We as Air Crew find this hotel liked by all crew and are happy to stay here.
There is a courtesy shuttle into the centre of the city on demand.
Free Internet at reception and computers.

Room Tip: The rooms in the hotel are the best ones rather than the stand alone units. Corner rooms are large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aircrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascotpark080, Owner at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Yes, the Ascot Park Hotel is located just a few doors from the Ascot Park Racecourse and has strong ties with the Invercargill Racing Community... it is great that the the Hotel's faciliites are used by owners, jockeys, drivers and punters.
On raceday you can often find a jockey or two slimming down in one of two saunas!
Thanks for this great response to our facilities!
Cheers
Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed 3 nights. Initially booked motel unit & was offered a free upgrade to hotel (reservations manager noted single female traveller & thought hotel room would be more appropriate). After arriving & seeing that motel units are separate & a littled isolated, I was very impressed. Lovely appointed room which i believe is part of the newer wing. Standard of housekeeping fantastic! Great service from everyone in the hotel. Lovely touch of bowl of apples on reception. Good gym facility, spa & separate ladies & gents sauna also great. Highly recommend this hotel especially for business women. Beautiful thick curtains which overlap and keep the cold out! Will stay again when in Invercargill.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing (can't remember the name of it)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaScorgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you Fiona for this great review!
Without question I am enjoying the great customer outcomes that are the result of having an equally great team.Cheryl is my Reservation Manager and is personally responsible for the upgrade. It wont happen all the time but it is great when members of the team have the confidence to make a great call. We hope to see you again in Invercargill.
Best Regards
Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Otago
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

My wife and I found the Ascot Park Hotel to be warm, clean, comfortable and convenient ----with a spacious, well-appointed bedroom and convenient vehicle parking outside our room. Without exception, we found the staff to be warm, welcoming and helpful. The restaurant was of a good standard, with servings erring on the generous side!! A mid-winter swim in the hotel's heated indoor pool was a refreshing and welcome bonus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyNorthOtago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks Mikey for your warm comments! Great to have you visit Southland, Invercargill and the Ascot Park Hotel.Happy travelling!
Peter Ridsdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great hotel, rooms were nice. The staff were exceptional. We had a very challenging group of 20 or so and they tackled every issue with ease making us feel welcome and at home. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Invercargill.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notoriousbhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for this awesome response to our Hotel and services. It si great to be able to share this with the team.
Come back soon.
Peter Ridsdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Ascot is the best hotel ever. The staff are all awesome and go way out of their way to help us in any way possible. In fact all the people we have dealt with in Invercargill have been amazing, so much so we are going to move there. Thanks Ascot for helping and supporting us in our transition. Saskia

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saskia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
What a great way to end my week. I look forward to seeing you again... perhaps next time as a Southlander. If you need help making any contacts around town from schools to fishing spots I am sure we can help. Have a great day!
Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Had a great three nights at the Ascot Park. We stayed in one of the motel units, which are marketed as 3 stars - it's an older style block but I was pleasantly surprised to find a spacious, very clean, tidy and (very important!) warm and cozy unit. Kitchen was well stocked. You could hear people talking in the next unit, but I'd read that in another review and it wasn't a big issue. We enjoyed having a pool facility on site too. Had breakfast in the Emberz restaurant and it was a high quality meal. Service at Reception and Housekeeping was friendly and very helpful. Overall, I was really impressed with the whole place, and we will definitely return for another visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jac F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Glad that you visited and enjoyed our facilities. Come again soon.
Best regards
Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
1.6 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#14 of 33 in Invercargill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.6 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#3 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
3.3 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#9 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Park Hotel

Property: Ascot Park Hotel
Address: Corner Tay Street and Racecourse Road, Invercargill 9840, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#3 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#4 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#5 Family Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Invercargill's largest accommodation property, the Ascot Park Hotel is Qualmark rated 4 Star, comprising of 116 Hotel, Motel and Suite accommodation. Set in park like surrounds the Ascot Park Hotel is the ideal place to stay with ample car parking, indoor heated pool and fitness centre. The award winning Emberz Bar and Restaurant is the ideal place to dine or wind down after a busy day. A wide choice of Conference facilities are also offered for your business needs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascot Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Park Invercargill
Ascot Park Hotel Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing