We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, comfortable hotel”
Review of Ascot Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ascot Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2008

This was a very pleasant hotel, large but still very welcoming. DH and I stayed one night, after a long drive from Dunedin through the Catlins (a highly recommended journey though). Situated on the edge of town, it was very easy to find, clean, and with many welcome amenities. The small pool is well-maintained and there was no one else there while we were! There are also saunas, which were very very hot!

We ate in the bar as there was a large party in the restaurant, but we were able to order from the entire menu. The meals were very good and the staff helpful.

I also really liked the motel style, as our car was full of luggage and other bags, so it made it really easy to sort this out. This was great, with all the hotel amenities to hand.

A very good, welcoming hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank manic_curls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 391 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2007

Firstly, this place is huge. It offers both hotel and motel rooms and
we were given a map on arrival to find our hotel room. After staying in small towns/villages for the previous week, this was a shock to our system.

The hotel room we had was massive and easily the largest standard room I've ever stayed in. There was an outside door to the parking space, plus inside access to the hotel complex.

There is a swimming pool, sauna and spa but the pool is very small and not much use for actually swimming across.

The hotel is right on the edge of town but this was fine for us, as there didn't seem to be any reason to go into Invercargill itself.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GarrySwann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2006

Booked in on spec. Mid price rooms good value. Facilities good - used free laundry room (including materials) extensively. OK restaurant but bar meals good.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank warren_zevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2006

Undergoing renovation worth $4million, however, provided king sized room with separate huge spa bath. Rooms very nicely furnished and very spacious. Swimming pool available at no extra cost. Restaurant reasonably priced. Internet only via wireless hotspot. and expensive.
Despite the disruption caused by the building work, this is a lovely place, albeit on the outskirts of the town.
$153 for a night, I thought that was cheap!
Breakfast available at $15 each.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rob3066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2005

Not sure what the definition of a hotel i thought it was a tall building - anyway - this is sort of a motorlodge (1 level ) place on quite large grounds but is all connected.

Parking is plentiful and outside your room. Rooms are linked internally but each one has external entrance as well. Rooms are average - not fantastic but a room and more than enough for a nights sleep. Rooms are clean and tidy and have what you would expect.

Have stayed here numerous times and rooms are all very similar although there are a couple of absolutely huge i would assume family rooms that could sleep 6+ with seperate bathroom, toilet , and spa bath room - the spa bath room is the size of a normal room - you feel a little lonely by yourself and need binoculars to see the tv from the bed :)

Room service, is pricey like all hotels but more than adequate and service is good.


Facilites like the gym and indoor pool are simple and smallishl but adequate.

There isnt a lot of hotel? choices in Invercargil so this isnt a bad one. Biggest downside is if you dont have a car dont stay here its about 5km from town (10mins drive) i always do so dosent worry me.

Price about $120 per night is NZ standard it seems..

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vaka8587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sergi0Z523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
1.6 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
328 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#15 of 33 in Invercargill
182 reviews
1.6 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#4 of 33 in Invercargill
140 reviews
1.3 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
3.3 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Park Hotel

Address: Corner Tay Street and Racecourse Road, Invercargill 9840, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#3 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#4 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#5 Family Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range: $82 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Invercargill's largest accommodation property, the Ascot Park Hotel is Qualmark rated 4 Star, comprising of 116 Hotel, Motel and Suite accommodation. Set in park like surrounds the Ascot Park Hotel is the ideal place to stay with ample car parking, indoor heated pool and fitness centre. The award winning Emberz Bar and Restaurant is the ideal place to dine or wind down after a busy day. A wide choice of Conference facilities are also offered for your business needs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ascot Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Park Invercargill
Ascot Park Hotel Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing