We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Tayesta
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I would definitely stay at this place again. The room was so much larger than we had expected, extremely clean, all the amenities you need even sky tv. Also the lady at the reception was a darling and made it very easy. Looking at this place from the road may not thrill you but, it's quite a nice comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benji35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnTayesta, Owner at Comfort Inn Tayesta, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

We are delighted to have surprised you and made you comfortable. We continually review and modernise the interiors of our units to ensure that they are at a good standard and that the amenities include those relevant to our guests, such as Sky Guest Select and free WIFI.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 78 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed there recently for 3 nights during a work trip. Room was quite large with all the amenities you would expect from this standard of motel. The bed was super comfy. As it is at the bottom of New Zealand the winters can be quite cold. There was ample heating in the rooms and bathroom.
Reception was very friendly and helpful.

The only minor beef was the lack of free wi-fi. This is becoming critical for many people when booking accommodation anywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnTayesta, Owner at Comfort Inn Tayesta, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for your review Joe R, and I am delighted that we made you comfortable during your stay. Feedback is important to us and we have taken your comment about free wifi on board and have increased our data allocation so that we can offer our guests free wifi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I was in Invercargill from 16 - 20th June 2013 with a group of ladies from W.I. for AGM. Our stay at the Tayesta was very comfortable. It was an exceptionally cold week and we were delighted to find the heaters had been switched on before we came in from our meetings to find the rooms warmed.
The staff were very helpful and when we had to stay an extra night because of cancelled flights they were prepared to find space for the 7 of us. Mike & Jan offered to take us to our meetings when required. Would recommend the Tayesta to anyone travelling to Invercargill.

Denise Gavin, Eketahuna, NZ

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnTayesta, Owner at Comfort Inn Tayesta, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for your review, Denise, we enjoyed having the lively and gregarious WI teams here to brighten up the week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Tiny rooms and a smaller toilet than you get on a cruise ship. The 2 bedroom unit???? was very cold and 1of the electric blankets did not work. It was a great disappointment after having read other trip adviser comments.

Room Tip: Cottages seem to be a better option for south island of NZ
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alistair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnTayesta, Owner at Comfort Inn Tayesta, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I can only apologise that the faulty electric blanket has coloured your view of your stay - if we had known it was faulty, we would have instantly replaced it to make you more comfortable. We have checked the heater in the unit and it is working so can only assume that the thermostat was turned low.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night here after visiting Bluff. We arrived around 5pm and the friendly desk staff gave us a large studio room at a really good rate. I was also given a couple of recent magazines to read and keep if I wanted them. This Inn has a shop around the corner to walk to, or short drive to fast food and restaurants. We enjoyed our room which had table & chairs, full kitchen and also a sofa to sit on to watch TV instead of the usual propping oneself up on the bed. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nix51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Having travelled extensively in Oz and N.Z. you have a lot of " at the front desk" experiences. Some don't deserve to be in business, having no people skills or personality at all. It was lovely to walk into Comfort Inn after a long drive and be greeted by Dianne. She was simply gorgeous and full of information about not only the local area but about everything. So nice to talk too. a bit of a rarity these days. The Motel itself was so very clean and showed that they really cared. Little details of care were everywhere. My wife and I were really impressed by this little Gem. Our room was very spacious and cosy. We just loved it. Don't make an opinion out front, go in and enjoy their hospitality. It really is a nice place to stay and the bed was to die for.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Very friendly at check-in. Large living room and separate bedroom with super large, bed. The rooms, especially the bathroom were very clean and relatively modern. The location is very convenient, supermarkets and town center are easily reached on foot. The Comfort Inn Tayesta is thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Parking right in front of your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimZerbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.5 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
331 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#15 of 33 in Invercargill
184 reviews
1.4 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#4 of 33 in Invercargill
141 reviews
0 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Tayesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Tayesta

Address: 343 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range: $87 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Tayesta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 Mostly ground-floor apartment-style units all with Free WIFI and LCD TVs with 50+ channels (Sky Guest Select service). The units are warm and quiet (double glazed). The 1 and 2-bedroom units have kitchens and the Studios have kitchenettes. All have complimentary tea and coffee, sparkling bathroom facilities and Guest controlled heating. Free parking. Extras include Cooked and continental breakfast, restaurant charge-back and delivery, guest laundry, children's play area. DVD player cot and highchair by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Tayesta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Invercargill
Comfort Inn Tayesta Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing