We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long waiting time”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Batch Cafe

The Batch Cafe
Ranked #1 of 100 Restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Merry Merry Xmas, thank you for your interest in the Batch Cafe, we make the decision to close over the Xmas New Year period to let everyone in our team enjoy Family time. This is not an easy decision to make and we are sorry for the inconvenience it may cause some, but we will be back rejuvenated and excited to welcome everyone again January 4th 2017 from 8am. Merry Xmas and Happy New Year from us
Gore, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Long waiting time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

I had a wrap with some olives in it, no one told me that the olives still full of stones i nearly broke my thoose. the coffe was good just a long long time 2 wait 4 a coffe:-(.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter661412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garethham, Owner at The Batch Cafe, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hi Peter - uuugh - we are sorry stones still in the olives are unacceptable! And rest assured we have checked to make sure there are guidelines in Kitchen. Thank you for the comment, and with regards to the coffee, thanks we do pride ourselves on our coffee and even with two baristas on there is sometimes a wait around certain times. But glad you thought it was worth it. If you are in the cafe again please do not hesitate to introduce yourself and accept a coffee on us!
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    116
    28
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Batch Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We went to The Batch with a group of moteliers for their Christmas function. We were able to arrange our main meal and desert before arriving. The food was well presented and both courses were very tasty.
The staff were attentive without being overbearing and certainly looked after us during a wonderful night. I would not hesitate in the future to recommend The Batch to our motel guests.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QPM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garethham, Owner at The Batch Cafe, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Guys thank you thank you, your group was just such fun and we loved hosting you. - It makes our Xmas chaos fun.
And by the way you all rocked that dance floor!
Thanks again for the lovely comments and have a fantastic xmas.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great coffee,friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I visited The Batch for the first time this week. The coffee was awesome and I loved the corn cakes with bacon. The ginger slice was delicious!
Really friendly service too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CandN07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“What a buzzing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have been going there almost every week that we have been in town during this trip. It never fails to please, with really friendly staff, good food and fabulous coffee. no wonder it won the award for best cafe in New Zealand

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GEOFFREY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW ZEALAND
Level Contributor
131 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Food average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

It may be a good place to meet for a coffee and chat with the girls but I would not rate it as far as the meals go.It is always full but often cramped.I had the fish and chip meal.It was tasteless soggy with chips that were dry and hard.Stick to the muffins.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KIWIKEITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garethham, Owner at The Batch Cafe, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Just read your review and thank you we can only improve through learning, - at times we are very busy and we try to check with our customers how their meal and coffee has been. I am sorry we did not get to speak to you to learn this while you were visiting. I note you visited in August - but was also a little confused as we do not have chips on our menu - so not sure what you may have had. However if you would like to visit again and make yourself known we would love to meet with you as we are always keen to make sure we rectify any issues so please drop by. Thank you.
The Batch Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Batch Cafe also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to The Batch Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing