We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great flight and swampy crossing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stewart Island Flights

Stewart Island Flights
Ranked #1 of 4 Tours in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Streatley on Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A great flight and swampy crossing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We took the flight to land on the beach at Masons Bay to do the coast to coast walk. The main aim was to see a kiwi in the wild and we were lucky enough to be among the one in 3 that did. The walk itself is relatively easy as it is flat but with good views but far less spectacular than the great walks in Fjordland. Be aware that after rain there are a number of patches of quite deep mud to get through.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    31
    1
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Raymond of Stewart Island Flights took my impromptu phone call late on a Sunday night and by early Monday afternoon we were flying with him over to Stewart Island where he had arranged a package at the hotel (with breakfast included) and a water taxi to wonderful Ulva Island. Ulva Island is not to be missed. There we were the only two people on the whole island in the late afternoon listening to and watching birds and walking the wonderful annotated trails.

This is a most wonderful overnight (or 2-3 day) holiday while in the Southland of New Zealand.

Thanks Raymond!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Flight to Stewart Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Small plane but delightful area views and staff were friendly and helpful. Liked the fact that you could leave your luggage in Invercargill and only take what you need

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I took a full day tour which included a visit to Ulva Island and a bus tour. All of Ulva Island is a bird sanctuary and predator free. The birds show no fear of humans and the gorgeous little Robins literally hop around your feet. Stewart Island is a unique place and offers many varied walks.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Great value, great views, fantastic service. Thanks so much guys, not only did you make our short visit to Stewart Island possible, you showed us true kiwi hospitality. Much appreciated!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kiwigal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stewart Island Flights also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Stewart Island Flights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing