We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value great food. Even better service”
Review of Paddington Arms

Paddington Arms
Ranked #21 of 101 Restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $19
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Do you love the comfort of English Pub inspired food, with a personal Southland twist? Would you enjoy a diverse, high quality menu using the very best of Southland’s products at reasonable prices for all age groups? Do you sometimes want a break from cooking for your family or partner, and enjoy a warm, cosy, and relaxing evening?Then you have come across the only Invercargill Restaurant that will over deliver on all your wishes.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

$20 mains when we visited. Lovely meals good size for value. Well cooked and presented. Staff were friendly, fun and professional. We will be back for dinner when we are back in Invers

Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarterTrader, Manager at Paddington Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Hi Wendy D,
It was great to see you, Very pleased you had a great time with us. Look forward to seeing you again when you're in town next.

Many Thanks
Matty Hawkes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Paddington Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 95 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

Wonderful meal, excellent hosts, awesome service & fantastic atmosphere. A "must stop" for anyone whether local or visiting. The meals were excellent in every way....Price, presentation, quality and quantity.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ruth5362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarterTrader, Manager at Paddington Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Hi Ruth5362,
Thanks for your comments, Nice to know our efforts are well received.
Tell all your friends, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Many Thanks,
Matthew Hawkes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Being from the uk I was expecting the real deal. Having lives in invercargill for 12 years have only been once and did not have the best experience so thought we would give the resteraunt the beniefit of the doubt and re try. Very dissapointed. Not a very huge menu no vegetarian options no atmosphere. One o'clock in a traditional English pub would be prime time here only one other table was occupied. Kids menu seemed good but good was shocking "chicken tenders and chips" was what we ordered for my 2 year but we got a massive bowl of over cooked fries and 4chicken nuggets! Traditional jam rolly polly has jam in the middle not just jam on the side. Really really poor if your looking for a good resteraunt in invercargill go somewhere else!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Benji116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarterTrader, Manager at Paddington Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Hi Bengi116,
Thanks for sharing your comments, We are sorry we didn’t live up to you're expectations. Filling a restaurant while the local hero Sharks basketball team is in action does prove to be difficult at times, any other Sunday you would be impressed with the support we get. It’s always hard recreating a popular theme in different country, everyone always has there likes and favourites from “the home land”. Trying to recreate those in a different country and city is always a challenge. So, like in “the home land” a lot of the English pubs have evolved to Gastro Pubs, Paddy’s is doing the same. Moving away from the dark basement style establishment and into a fresh vibrant Foodie Pub, small menus where the dishes change seasonally to keep it interesting for the regulars. Where we can also create dishes using local produce that we know our locals will enjoy. We are right in the middle of that transformation currently, so we are sorry if that has caused some confusion. Likewise our kids menu reads “Tempura battered chicken with shoestring fries” Sorry if you were expecting chicken tenders, we have found that in general chicken nuggets are better received by the kids than chicken tenders. We look forward to everyone coming and see in the new look Paddy’s with Southland food for Southland people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I had read reviews about this pub on tripadvisor so had high expectations of a dining experience. Our meal order was quite slow to be taken and the waitress did not offer drinks while we were waiting so that was a little disappointing. The meal itself, however, was very good value for money.
It was nicely served, was hot, tasty and generous in size. I was impressed by the variety on offer and if I'd had room I would have tried one of the desserts. All round, worth the trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tanpic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonArms, Owner at Paddington Arms, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for dining with us and your review. We take on board your comments regarding the Drinks but as we are a (Gastro) Pub we are happy for guests to obtain their drinks from the bar. We appreciate you found the pricing of the menu right as we are trying to show people you can offer good food for under $20.00 for a main course. Many thanks, Cheers Hawksy (Graham).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stopped in after finishing the Hump Ridge track and walking the last 21km in the rain and were famished. After arriving we realized the pub wasn't planning to open for another 45 minutes and we were about to leave before the manager (owner?) stopped us and said they'd be happy to open early just for us. They went above and beyond providing fantastic service and great conversation. The lamb and steak we ordered were fantastic and the value was incredible. Really excellent all around experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jlichti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonArms, Owner at Paddington Arms, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Hi Guy's, I remember you well and to open a little early was the least we could do following your "Big Day" of walking. It was a pleasure to be able to serve you and trust you enjoyed the rest of your visit to New Zealand. Thank you for your review, Cheers Hawksy (Graham).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paddington Arms also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Paddington Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing