We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Meal”
Review of Buster Crabb

Buster Crabb
Ranked #6 of 100 Restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $27
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Gastropub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We have a lovely warm and inviting restaurant. We use all locally sourced product with very generous servings with an emphasis on the meat portion of the meal. Our steaks are 250gms up to the "Donald Trump Choker", which is 500gm and cooked slowly over 20 hours. We use fresh Blue Cod and locally caught wild Venison. Buster Crabb is the best choice
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We took our staff to Buster Crabb for a end of year staff function there were 7 of us in total. The food was lovely, we all ordered different meals and all meals came out together. The meal sizes were of good size for average to large eaters. Staff were friendly and nothing was a problem to them. Certainly worth visiting for a meal out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    121
    46
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good ambiance.”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The seafood chowder was excellent. Had to wait but well worth it. Have had more than one excellent meal there and can recommend it to local as well as visitors. Need to make bookings to ensure space available. Otherwise show the world Invercargill isn't a backwater.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Nice meal, we both could have done with a little more on the plate, but we didn't go out hungry. Service was good but waitress did not come back during our meal to ask if everything was ok, otherwise I would have told her.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scottie186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fab food, fab decor, fab service”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

What fantastic service! To have staff who can professionally recommend a broad range of dishes and beverages which the whole table enjoyed is such a coup. The wait staff made us feel like regulars and we all loved our meals. A bonus to be located in such a cool old villa regenerated into such a metropolitan restaurant. We were frankly surprised to find a place like this in Invercargill - but it really rocked our stereotypes! If you only have one night in town, make sure you eat at Buster Crabb and try the 'Mysterious Diggings'

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacqs-in-the-box
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Went with friends for lunch and we all throughly enjoyed our meals. 2 blue cod meals and a scallop with pasta.
Generous sizings, flavoursom and prompt. Very friendly professional service and the waitress had a good laugh with us too.
Both friends said they would come back and have the same meal again as they enjoyed it that much.
Thanks again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buster Crabb also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Buster Crabb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing