We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent facilities and location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Invercargill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Central City Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent facilities and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

I would highly recommend this place; it has a well equipped kitchen, utilities, communal area, sofas, EXCELLENT showers- best showers yet!- and free WiFi. The owners are lovely and really helpful. Excellent alternative to a hostel!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank brekkish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy J, Owner at Central City Camping Park, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hello Brekkish
Thanks for your great Review of our Park. It's always really pleasing to know our customers have gone away happy.
Sincere apologies for the delay in responding Life is now slowing down after a busy summer.
Thanks again
Wendy & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    20
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
9
46
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

30 years of experience caravaning and this park is in top 5. Perfect hosts. Excellent facilities. The one person who 'badmouthed' this great park is a nasty individual who used this forum as 'payback' because he was politely asked by the owners to keep the noise level down well after most other campers were TRYING to sleep. I know; I was there. I'd have evicted them.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POMEOZKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy J, Owner at Central City Camping Park, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hello Pomeozki
You certainly have the years of experience of camping to do some comparisons and we're really delighted that we rate in one of your top slots! Superb thank you.
We hope all went well as you made your way back up north. Thank you for taking the time to do a Review of our Park and apologies for the delay in responding.
Kind regards
Wendy & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Not a family orientated park at all! Even though its a small park, we were looking for somewhere to camp on a regular basis, (once a month) We thought this would be perfect. Only 2 person tents seemed acceptable, and curfew 10.30 even if you are only playing cards!
We were very disappointed with the owners lack of hospitality towards our family being there.
We will not be back and find it is your loss as we would have been regular campers. (Mum, Dad and 2 kids).
Really dissapointed.

Room Tip: If you are older and own a campervan, and only tend to stay 1 or 2 nights, then this will be ok. Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasha281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy J, Owner at Central City Camping Park, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hello Tasha281
We do hope that you managed to find a camping park where you have been able to relax and have fun as a family group.

For a family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers wanting to have fun into the night, you are quite correct in that our Park is not the best choice.

We cater for a wide variety of camping styles from large motor homes to small tents, for overnight to month+ stays for people from all over NZ and around the world. For a group such as yours with a caravan plus awning and each of your teenagers having their own sizable tent it is necessary to book 2 sites. And with canvas offering no sound-proofing we expect you will have found bigger parks more suited to your needs.

We do not have a curfew (not something we have ever needed to consider); when we spoke with you we were simply endeavouring to reach a compromise suited to all parties concerned.

We have had several families here with young children and they've found our Park very convenient as a base from which they can explore what Invers has to offer, to catch up on family tasks and to relax.

We hope you too found a place to relax and become 'regulars'.
Kind regards
Wendy & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
152 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

This kitchen is well equipped with clean utensil and well stocked cutlery. Big and spacious with comfortable seating capacity. Totally love it. Free wifi but unfortunately only 100MB. 7mins good warm, nice pressure hot bath. Walking distance to pak n save as well as the town centre. Package for family of 4 $56.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank EdithCChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy J, Owner at Central City Camping Park, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hello Edith
Thank you for taking the time to do a review of our Park. I'm sure it must have been busy for you travelling as a family. Please accept our apologies for the delay in responding.

We are delighted you found our facilities suitable for your family group. I do hope we gave you 2 vwifi vouchers.

You appear to be an experienced Reviewer thus we are pleased you were happy with our facilities.
Kind regards
Wendy & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed just one night in a 'wicked' small campervan.
For a tiny fee of $15pp we stepped into an central city oasis of great facilities and friendliness (hosts Doug & Wendy were only too happy to help with whatever the task).
This place is kept cleaner than many 5 star hotels I've stayed in over the years, it's evident the hosts put their heart and soul into the place and not even a grass clipping is out of order on the perfectly mowed green lawns. Kitchen is full of a the things you need, showers are HOT! the camp park isn't very big either so you get a nice little community feel about the place with the bonus of no crowds.
If we ever decide to re-live our campervan experience, we'll definitely be back here again!
Thanks Doug & Wendy!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hailzhasit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy J, Owner at Central City Camping Park, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your superb review.

You've set the expectations for us to live up to now!! We do work to keep th place A1 but at times it's challenging, especially just now when the lawns are growing++ with the weather being wet and warm.

We hope all went well for the remainder of your South Island venture and yes if you ever do it again or have any other reason to head to Invers, we would love to see you back.

Thanks again for taking the time to do the review and for staying with us. Was our pleasure to have you both spend a night in our Park.
Kind regards
Wendy & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We hadn't planned on staying in Invercargill - what a lovely surprise the Central City Camping Park was! The location was fantastic - we walked into town to explore restaurants, pubs and to pick up supplies from the supermarket. The park facilities were extremely well maintained and superior to a lot of other parks we stayed at.
It was great to have free wifi - the customer service was second to none - we felt the owners went the extra mile by giving us some good tips for next day of travel - we loved cosy nook!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacq23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy J, Owner at Central City Camping Park, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thanks sooooo much for your fantastic review Jacq23! We too are pleased you decided to stop-over in Invercargill and enjoy checking out our city.
Pleased too you made use of the Wifi - all being well we'll have Ultrafast Broadband to offer guests in a couple of weeks - fingers crossed the installation goes well.
That's great that you drove into Cosy Nook - it's such a quaint little place!
Thanks again and all the very best to you both.
Wendy & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
158 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Great, great spot for an overnight stay in Invercargill! Toilets, showers, kitchen and loungeroom are recently updated to the latest standards, however kept in the original, nostalgic feeling which for us made it all the more personal and friendly. Owners Wendy and Doug were helpful with good hints and tips for trips and attractions in the area! Free WiFi is another great addition to the already perfect experience! Many other caravan parks in NZ simply charge you premium price for a mediocre experience. Wendy and Doug certainly make this experience worth every cent!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy J, Owner at Central City Camping Park, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you very much for such a great review. We sincerely appreciate you taking time out to write it and apologise for the delay in responding. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us.
We hope all went well on the remainder of your NZ travels.
Kind regards
Wendy and Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.8 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#15 of 33 in Invercargill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park
3.8 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
Victoria Railway Hotel
Victoria Railway Hotel
#1 of 16 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central City Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central City Camping Park

Property: Central City Camping Park
Address: 209 Tweed Street, Invercargill 9812, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet well-maintained park easy 800m walk into the city. Powered and unpowered sites. Quality bedroom units with bedding, TV, heater etc, 2 with ensuites and 2 without bedding for the more budget conscious travellers. High pressure showers, very well equipped kitchen-dining-lounge area, laundry, free Wifi voucher. Three things our guests regularly comment are how much they enjoy being able to park-up and stroll into the city, the very high standard of cleanliness and how very comfortable and relaxed they feel staying with us. We really are en route to everywhere! Just metres from the Southern Scenic Route - east to the Catlins & west to Fiordland, State Highway 1 - north to Dunedin & and south to Bluff and the Stewart Island ferry terminal, and just a few blocks from the city centre. Come check us out. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Central City Camping Park Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing