We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, brilliant location, clean and tidy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Central City Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The owners were helpful and friendly we stayed for 3 night because of their lovely site and we loved Invercargill, which is not to be missed. Near by is a swimming pool super market and liquor store. Invercargill was brilliant. Highly recommended town and site.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenkyLangy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy J, Owner at Central City Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for your superb review of our park. It was great to have you stay with us for the extra days and to take the time to enjoy what both Invercargill and we had to offer you. You really got to know our city which was good. Thank you for staying with us.
Kind regards
Wendy and Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Central City Camping Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 82 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed there for one night at the tent site. The owners are very friendly and welcoming. Facilities are clean and the location is quite near to town center (about 10 min walk). My only negative point is that there is no free internet which I think should be standard these days. Besides that nothing to complain.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swissgastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy J, Owner at Central City Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

We appreciate that you did a great review of our park and apologise for not responding much earlier. We're pleased to say that since you were here we have commenced giving away free internet vouchers which people do seem to appreciate. Thanks again.
Kind regards
Wendy and Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The campsite is clean and very close to the city center. The hosts are very friendly. The kitchen is well-equipped and has a comfy sofa to watch TV. If you want a quiet not overcrowded campsite then this is for you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poklad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy J, Owner at Central City Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review of our park. You have been very informative and superbly positive. Please accept our sincere apologies for not responding much earlier. We do really value your comments.
Special thanks
Wendy and Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

A perfect small site for any visit to Invercargill or the surrounding area, Excellent facilities and to cap it all a brilliant couple of hosts in Doug & Wendy. They were the perfect hosts and went the extra mile to make sure our stay was great and to ensure all the other guest enjoyed their trip to the Southlands. Well done and have a really busy Summer from those who do it in Dorset UK. .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy J, Owner at Central City Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Martyn & Jayne, sincere thanks for your very positive review which we read on Christmas Day thus it was a great way to start the day.
We aim to provide an all-round quality camping experience for our guests therefore it is rewarding to have you confirm that about your stay with us.
Thank you too for sharing your knowledge. Being new to the business we are keen to learn from experienced successful camp operators such as yourselves.
We hope you are continuing to enjoy what NZ has to offer. Thanks again, Wendy & Doug.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This camping site was absolutely perfect. Ideal position to do short walks into the centre of Invercargill. Very friendly owners (kiwi couple) which are willing to help you with everything. Enough space for parking, comfortable and well equipted kitchen with lounge, clean and tidy toilets and showers. I can say nothing wrong against this place and I can highly recommended to all travelers ;-)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aneta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy J, Owner at Central City Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Thank you Aneta. We are really pleased to receive confirmation that it was a positive experience for you staying here with us in our camping park and that you are prepared to share that with others by way of your really positive review.
It is encouraging for us in our pursuit to be providing a quality camping experience for travelers to southern New Zealand. Thank you again. Wendy & Doug.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Michael and Rosemary visited New Zealand from Somerset UK, in September 12. We noticed the Southlands were missed off the itinery of many motor home trips. If you have the time it was an area that we both enjoyed very much. In fact, it was one of our favourite area 's. We found Wendy and Doug the new owners, were extremely helpful and her enthusiasm to create an enjoyable place to stay was very important to her. Amenities were excellent, quiet yet not isolated. The site was central and within easy walking to explore Invercargill. The Botanical gardens, i site and shop ( Hayes and Son I think ) that stocks everything including vintage cars and the bike that Burt Munro broke the world record was definately worth visiting. After so much driving it was relaxing to allow ourselves time to rest and not have to move the van.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rose r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy J, Owner at Central City Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Michael & Rosemary we thank you very much for your very positive, thoughtful review. We are enjoying the experience of meeting people from all around the world and are aiming to provide a quality camping experience for our guests.
We are very pleased to have met your expectations and contributed to your positive experience while here in the south of New Zealand. Again we say a big thank you. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. Wendy & Doug.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This camping park has a new owner. Besides a warm welcome you'll notice immediately the commitment and enthusiasm of the owner to make this a perfect place to stay. The accommodation is very new and very clean. The TV room annex kitchen is warm and cosy.

This place is just a little walk from the town center and situated in a nice and quiet part of the town.

The rate of this Camping Park is a very good value for quality.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grensjeverleggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy J, Owner at Central City Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Special thanks Grensjeverleggen. As new owners, we especially appreciate that you have taken the time to do the first review for our Park & that you have been so thoughtful & thorough. Thank you again, Wendy & Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
2.1 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
377 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
320 reviews
3.8 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#4 of 33 in Invercargill
137 reviews
1.6 mi away
Queens Park Motels
Queens Park Motels
#9 of 33 in Invercargill
136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Birchwood Manor Motel
Birchwood Manor Motel
#14 of 33 in Invercargill
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central City Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central City Camping Park

Address: 209 Tweed Street, Invercargill 9812, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Invercargill
Price Range: $49 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Central City Camping Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet well-maintained park easy 800m walk into the city. Powered and unpowered sites. Quality bedroom units with bedding, TV, heater etc, 2 with ensuites and 2 without bedding for the more budget conscious travellers. High pressure showers, very well equipped kitchen-dining-lounge area, laundry, free Wifi voucher. Three things our guests regularly comment are how much they enjoy being able to park-up and stroll into the city, the very high standard of cleanliness and how very comfortable and relaxed they feel staying with us. We really are en route to everywhere! Just metres from the Southern Scenic Route - east to the Catlins & west to Fiordland, State Highway 1 - north to Dunedin & and south to Bluff and the Stewart Island ferry terminal, and just a few blocks from the city centre. Come check us out. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Central City Camping Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central City Camping Park Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing