We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a Gem!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Great little park with kids in mind … animals to pet, decent playground and The Barn with the best kitchen facilities we have seen anywhere. Great combination of tv, dining and reading area. Hosts were marvellous. Slept in Bunk/Dorm Room right next to toilet and shower area, which were clean and tidy. Totally recommend this park … lived up to its 5* cleanliness rating. No zip but two electric jugs provided. Sad that original barn was burnt down in 2012, but this Barn was complete with new stuff … which was a real pleasure to use. Its 3km out of invercagill but worth the drive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkStWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InvercargillKiwiHP, Owner at Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your review, it is great how many people enjoy the new Barr. We hope the rest of your holiday went well, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    26
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
42
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is set just outside the main town and is <10 mins by car

The cabin we stayed in was clean and very cosy and was perfect for our stop in invercargill.

This was our first kiwi holiday park we stayed in and we were impressed and have booked several other kiwi holiday parks in the South Island as a result of our pleasant stay here.

Highy recommend

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlokeFromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hokitika, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

The holiday park is a few minutes out of town which makes it very quiet and spacious. Good rates, very friendly hosts and even some farm animals to pet. Perfect for families but also backpackers! There is a big barn that has been turned into a kitchen/eating/lounge room which is modernly renovated and very cozy on wet days.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ZoraNora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We travelled from Perth, Australia and stayed at this holiday park for 5 nights in one of the flats. To say the least, we loved it! Our three children helped feed the animals every morning, the flat was beautiful and clean, the people are LOVELY and it was just an overall wonderful experience. We didn't use the common kitchen (we had our own in the flat) but it looked amazing, and whenever we used the laundry facilities they were always clean and well maintained. Would highly recommend this place to anyone and everyone. Many thanks to Rachael for making us feel so welcome :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EliRPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The hostess was very friendly and helpful. The unit we stayed had a tranquil setting. It was spacious and clean. The kitchen had all we needed, and there were even a washing machine and a dryer in the unit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mxm6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We totally loved the environment and the facility (especially the kitchen and the play ground) of this holiday park!
My children was excited to see many animals such as sheep, cows and alpacas!
We want to come back in the future!

Room Tip: Good kitchen and good play ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yukikowadamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great stop over last minute booking stayed 6 nights great place to set up camp over Christmas. Handy to Invercargill city and very quiet. The barn was fab and the facilities top class. Can't do much about the weather but overall a good decision to stay here. We all loved it. Thanks for your help had to leave early last day so didn't say goodbye THANKS we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
3.8 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
359 reviews
4.3 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
310 reviews
2.0 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Victoria Railway Hotel
Victoria Railway Hotel
#1 of 15 in Invercargill
200 reviews
4.3 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#13 of 33 in Invercargill
60 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Invercargill
Ibis Styles Invercargill
#6 of 13 in Invercargill
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park

Property: Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park
Address: 352 Lorne Dacre Road | Highway 98, Invercargill 9876, New Zealand (Formerly Lorneville Holiday Park)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a beautiful park in the country, where you can feed lambs, sheep and alpaca. Only eight minutes from the city. "Exceptionally clean and beautifully presented, with kind little touches at every corner-best yet in six weeks in NZ" Lavina, UK. "Quiet and peaceful place, very clean, farm animals-great! Jochen, Germany." Two cottage options with own bathrooms and basic cooking: A one bed-roomed 1950's decorate feel with a standard lamp old fashioned decor, but all the modern amenities. A three bed-roomed which sleeps six with a foldout couch in the lounge, this is decorated in the 70's style with bright orange and brown colours. All cutlery, and crockery to match:). Three cabin rooms for the budget minded with just beds and use the shared facilities: One has two single beds, One has a double and a single plus a set of bunks so sleeps five. The other had two sets of bunks so sleeps four. Powered and non powered sites as well:). One two bed roomed Group Flat with own kitchen use shared bathrooms next door sleeps four in each room in bunk beds so sleeps eights in total. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorneville Lodge And Holiday Park Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing