We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet place to stay, great facilities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quiet place to stay, great facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Small camping with only a few sites, so it stays quite personal. Karen is a great host and takes the time to talk, and it is nice that the guests can come and watch when she feeds the animals. The new common house is very nice, really large and it feels like home. The kitchen as well as the bathrooms are very clean. The kitchen is fully equipped, it is very convenient.
The only weakness is that the camping is a little far from Invercargill.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pissenlit17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    22
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
38
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nouméa, null, New Caledonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed in this campground one night. This is the best campground in nz, With brand new facilities. Great for familly With young children, Karen And Gary proposed to help to feed the animals And the kids love it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Van-laethem J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I had stayed on a powered site and really enjoyed our stay. Karen is a great host and I really enjoyed the experience of feeding the lambs, calf, alpacas and goat. (Karen also gave us two fresh eggs laid by her hens). She also has a very small and cute dog called Nellie who likes her tummy tickling.

There were 2 children staying on the site while we were there and Karen encouraged them to feed the animals and even let them take George, the very friendly goat, for a walk on a leash. They all appeared to be having a great time.

The pitches were well spaced apart and the amenity block was very clean. (There was even soft toilet paper). It was great that the showers were free and untimed. They have a huge barn with tv and lots of seating, so lots of room for everyone. We didn't use the kitchen but it looked clean and functional. (They are in the process of putting a much larger kitchen in the empty half of the barn).

The grounds are very well maintained and everything about the site feels cared for. There are a number of dumpsites, recycling bins, fee based laundry and internet service. Everything you need.

Disadvantages: The distance from Invercargill - you would need transport, and some road noise. However, the road was not particularly busy at night.

Overall a great place to stay and somewhere we would definately come back to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank figcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InvercargillKiwiHP, Owner at Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for you reveiw, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Out Kitchen in the Barn is completley finished now and will be available for use in December. Our new Jersey calf "Hokey Pokey" is doing well now after an initial refusal to drink for two days!! All the best for the rest of your holiday in NZ, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This camping was our best camping experience of New Zealand where we have travelled for 4.5 weeks. Karen and Gary are real good hosts and frienly to help out. Example, when we parked our campervan Karen immediately got a hammock because of the nice weather. And off course helping in feeding the lambs and sheep and George the goat was excellent. The bathrooms and kitchen are very tidy and clean and nice to use. When leaving the next day (after feeding the animals again off course :) ) Gary provided us with details on where we can see seals and sea-lions. And indeed we saw them!

If you are going south on the South Island, stay at this campsite, you will not be dissapointed! Also the new barn is very nice with the new kitchen!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loes en louis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InvercargillKiwiHP, Owner at Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hi there, we have had a fantastic few days of weather once again this week but I admit we did have to put the hammock away for a coupe of days after you left:) Spotting wild life along the Catlins coast is fantastic isn't it? Many thanks for your reveiw, we enjoyed having you stay with us :) Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

What a great find! We were told of this park by chance and didn't know what to expect. The owners Gary and Karen have set out to make you feel part of the farm and an extension of the family. We got to feed the lambs and other animals, collect fresh eggs and relax in their great new Lounge/ kitchen/games area. The gardens are beautiful and the cute old camp kitchen has everyting you could think of. We were sorry we could only stay one night. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aus-54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InvercargillKiwiHP, Owner at Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thanks for reminding us just how special it is just to do the simple things when on holiday like feeding the animals and collecting eggs!! Our landscaping has finally been done outside The Barn and the grass has all come through. Gary's next job is to finish the playground now that he can walk on the new grass :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here as a family for four nights while attending a sporting event. The younger member of the family fell in love with the animals and Lorneville was the highlight of his trip to the south! Very clean, well-equipped, beautiful garden setting and friendly and helpful owners made it a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the retro suite. 70s decor with absolutely superb standard beds so don't be deterre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cphenvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We received a very warm and friendly welcome by Karen. We stayed in a cabin with our two children and there was plenty of room, the heater worked well, plenty of power points for gadgets and the fully stocked kitchen was right next door - great for travelling on a budget. The grounds are spectacular and beautifully maintained. The new 'shed' is just divine - amazingly decked out with games, views, beautiful decor and even the opportunity to watch some sheep shearing!!!! Thanks Gary for sharing your insightful knowledge about the goings-on of this part of owning sheep :) The animal feeding was a great thrill - even for the adults!! Feeding an ostrich is definitely something you don't ever do - until you visit Lorneville Holiday Park!!! Some playground equipment for the kids (and adults) also. The best stay of our two week driving holiday. Will definitely stay here again if we return to the south of NZ. Amazing job that you have both put into your park, Gary and Karen.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
4.3 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
4.1 mi away
Monarch Motel
Monarch Motel
#14 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
2.6 mi away
Bavarian Motel
Bavarian Motel
#22 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Invercargill
Ibis Styles Invercargill
#5 of 12 in Invercargill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park

Property: Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park
Address: 352 Lorne Dacre Road | Highway 98, Invercargill 9876, New Zealand (Formerly Lorneville Holiday Park)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a beautiful park in the country, where you can feed lambs, sheep and alpaca. Only eight minutes from the city. "Exceptionally clean and beautifully presented, with kind little touches at every corner-best yet in six weeks in NZ" Lavina, UK. "Quiet and peaceful place, very clean, farm animals-great! Jochen, Germany." Two cottage options with own bathrooms and basic cooking: A one bed-roomed 1950's decorate feel with a standard lamp old fashioned decor, but all the modern amenities. A three bed-roomed which sleeps six with a foldout couch in the lounge, this is decorated in the 70's style with bright orange and brown colours. All cutlery, and crockery to match:). Three cabin rooms for the budget minded with just beds and use the shared facilities: One has two single beds, One has a double and a single plus a set of bunks so sleeps five. The other had two sets of bunks so sleeps four. Powered and non powered sites as well:). One two bed roomed Group Flat with own kitchen use shared bathrooms next door sleeps four in each room in bunk beds so sleeps eights in total. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorneville Lodge And Holiday Park Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing