We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

What a great find! We were told of this park by chance and didn't know what to expect. The owners Gary and Karen have set out to make you feel part of the farm and an extension of the family. We got to feed the lambs and other animals, collect fresh eggs and relax in their great new Lounge/ kitchen/games area. The gardens are beautiful and the cute old camp kitchen has everyting you could think of. We were sorry we could only stay one night. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aus-54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InvercargillKiwiHP, Owner at Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thanks for reminding us just how special it is just to do the simple things when on holiday like feeding the animals and collecting eggs!! Our landscaping has finally been done outside The Barn and the grass has all come through. Gary's next job is to finish the playground now that he can walk on the new grass :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    25
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
41
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here as a family for four nights while attending a sporting event. The younger member of the family fell in love with the animals and Lorneville was the highlight of his trip to the south! Very clean, well-equipped, beautiful garden setting and friendly and helpful owners made it a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the retro suite. 70s decor with absolutely superb standard beds so don't be deterre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cphenvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We received a very warm and friendly welcome by Karen. We stayed in a cabin with our two children and there was plenty of room, the heater worked well, plenty of power points for gadgets and the fully stocked kitchen was right next door - great for travelling on a budget. The grounds are spectacular and beautifully maintained. The new 'shed' is just divine - amazingly decked out with games, views, beautiful decor and even the opportunity to watch some sheep shearing!!!! Thanks Gary for sharing your insightful knowledge about the goings-on of this part of owning sheep :) The animal feeding was a great thrill - even for the adults!! Feeding an ostrich is definitely something you don't ever do - until you visit Lorneville Holiday Park!!! Some playground equipment for the kids (and adults) also. The best stay of our two week driving holiday. Will definitely stay here again if we return to the south of NZ. Amazing job that you have both put into your park, Gary and Karen.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed here with my 2 sons and a friend last night. What a find. Shouldn't really be telling you all about this as I don't want it to be fully booked next time. Great accommodation, clean, and everything you need for a comfy stay. My boys especially enjoyed feeding the lambs and meeting all the other gorgeous animals and had great fun on the roundabout in the playground. Karen is a fabulous host, friendly and helpful. The new barn looks great and I would recommend for group stays. Only 10 minutes drive from centre of Invercargill. Will stay again.

Room Tip: All great, it's near the road but it's not exactly a motorway!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topcat747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had a great stay, Karen and Gary have worked so hard to make this site so good. Karen was very helpful about where to go in town, loved seeing the new born lambs and feeding the animals in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TeresaWhetstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InvercargillKiwiHP, Owner at Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Many thanks for your headig "Best Site In NZ" we really apprecaite it! Carpet and Blanket are all grown now and have been weaned but still come running to us for a scratch and some meal!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

Very good no hassle service. Country charm, very friendly and kind hand. Don attended to me and made me felt very welcome. The animal crews of ostrich, little friendly goat,alcalpas and sheep were adorable. I stayed at the goldfish pond cabin..simply love it. The green lawn, the trees, the quiet....were just great. I wish I could stay longer. Thank you so much Don. I didn't get to stop at Caitlins but Queenspark of Invercargill is awesome!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kakchaqsalleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

The best place to wind down. Felt so much like home as we were treated like family by the staff. Great location and all facilities were nearby and so accessible. Will come again.

Room Tip: Ample camper van parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranXav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
4.3 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
4.1 mi away
Monarch Motel
Monarch Motel
#15 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
2.6 mi away
Bavarian Motel
Bavarian Motel
#22 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Invercargill
Ibis Styles Invercargill
#5 of 12 in Invercargill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park

Property: Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park
Address: 352 Lorne Dacre Road | Highway 98, Invercargill 9876, New Zealand (Formerly Lorneville Holiday Park)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a beautiful park in the country, where you can feed lambs, sheep and alpaca. Only eight minutes from the city. "Exceptionally clean and beautifully presented, with kind little touches at every corner-best yet in six weeks in NZ" Lavina, UK. "Quiet and peaceful place, very clean, farm animals-great! Jochen, Germany." Two cottage options with own bathrooms and basic cooking: A one bed-roomed 1950's decorate feel with a standard lamp old fashioned decor, but all the modern amenities. A three bed-roomed which sleeps six with a foldout couch in the lounge, this is decorated in the 70's style with bright orange and brown colours. All cutlery, and crockery to match:). Three cabin rooms for the budget minded with just beds and use the shared facilities: One has two single beds, One has a double and a single plus a set of bunks so sleeps five. The other had two sets of bunks so sleeps four. Powered and non powered sites as well:). One two bed roomed Group Flat with own kitchen use shared bathrooms next door sleeps four in each room in bunk beds so sleeps eights in total. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorneville Lodge And Holiday Park Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing