We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finest cuisine in town”
Review of Duo Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Duo Restaurant
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Invercargill
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Finest cuisine in town”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Atmosphere great. Personalised friendly service. Food to die for from a very inviting menu

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good dinner: plentiful too!”
Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Chose this restaurant from TripAdvisor summaries.
I was a little taken-a-back when I first laid eyes on the site but initial impressions were misleading. And anyway, I came to eat, not look?
Nice home-made cauliflower soup, with garlic bread, almost a meal in itself.
Ordered a steak, cooked just fine, with pok choi & mash but I could not finish the main. Good food but too much for me that night. I doubt you will starve in Duo?
The only negative.... Why is a noisy glass dishwasher in the restaurant section making its unpalatable racket...?
Had a good meal at Duo, the food & wine is cheap compared with Queenstown. I would go back again quite happily (but I'd unplug the washer!).

Helpful?
Thank Waggersting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great experience”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Four of us dinned at Duo and we all found our meals to be delicious. I especially enjoyed my dessert, Creme Brule, it is the best I have tasted. The service was outstanding. Fiona was efficient, friendly and knowledgable about the wines on offer. The atmosphere was warm and welcoming on a cold, windy night. My only gripe it was slighty overpriced but still we felt it was value for money.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happytraveler478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
invercargill
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not the best”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Food overpriced. Decor old. Not comfortable seating. Food felt like it had been microwaved. Had eel and it was so chewy. Could not even get knife through.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank adele h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Ever!!”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Ernie and Fiona are the best! Great service and food. Fantastic meals for great value! I often frequent here, probably not as often as I should but it is simply fantastic!!!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JrM05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duo Restaurant also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing