We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“jetboating Awesomeness!”

Wairaurahiri Wilderness Jet
Ranked #2 of 4 Tours in Invercargill
Attraction details
Reviewed October 24, 2013

A friend and I got our dads tickets for christmas, we meet Roffy with a few more friends at lake Hauroko, We got four seasons in a day weather wise, but that didn't matter the old boys still had a blast. The day trip jet boating down and back up the Wairaurahiri river is a great way to see this remote part of New Zealand. Roffy has heaps of local knowledge and great stories, which made it a awesome day! Thanks Roffy

Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Wairaurahiri Wilderness Jet, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Yes the weather at the moment is fickle to say the least but when that sun comes out it really makes it all worth while,Cheers for your review Keith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lake hauroko"
in 22 reviews
"great trip"
in 7 reviews
"grade rapids"
in 4 reviews
"amazing scenery"
in 5 reviews
"boat trip"
in 4 reviews
"new zealand"
in 11 reviews
"social club"
in 2 reviews
"felt completely"
in 2 reviews
"world class"
in 2 reviews
"river"
in 20 reviews
"exhilarating"
in 8 reviews
"raffa"
in 42 reviews
"adventure"
in 11 reviews
"ride"
in 11 reviews
"exhilaration"
in 3 reviews
"nz"
in 11 reviews
"southland"
in 9 reviews
Filter

53 - 57 of 82 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

We experienced hail, rain, wind and sunshine. However all the changable weather created a wonderful day across Lake Hauroko down to the mouth of the Wairaurahiri River. Paul makes you feel really relaxed during the tour and his BBQ lunch is amazing. The beautie of this area such a pleasure and is such a great way for everyone to visit this remote area of Fiordland.

Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Wairaurahiri Wilderness Jet, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Yes Spring in Fiordland is fickle but when that sun comes out after the rain that's when It's at It's absolute best.Thank you for your great review Liz. Cheers Roffy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great day out accross the stunning Lake Hauroko, then blasting down the Wairaurahiri River with our wonderful Jet Boat Driver Roffy! The water is stunningly clear, the virgin bush pristine, and Roffy's talent on the BBQ meant that the walks afterwards were well needed! Would thoroughly recommend to everyone, as this is a beautiful part of the South to see, and the best way to go is by Jet Boat! Roffy is a friendly knowledgable guide, with only our best interests at heart!

Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Wairaurahiri Wilderness Jet, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

It's always great to watch people appreciating this pristine part of New Zealand thank-you for your great review. Cheers Roffy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were looking for an experience to add to our book of memories. We certainly found one here. Thoroughly enjoyed the thrilling Jet Boat ride down the longest waterfall in New Zealand.Lake Hauroko was so calm you could see reflections in it. The trip down the Wairaurahiri River gives ample opportunity to view the beautiful unspoiled forest and the various stops along the way provide for bird watching, occasional fish spotting and photo opportunities. Lunch at Waitutu Lodge, beach walks, bush walks, swing bridge, unique scenery, awesome! The return journey up the grade 3 rapids has to be the most exhilarating and picturesque jet boat journey in New Zealand. At 83km return the 5-6 hour journey on Humpridge Jet is excellent value for money. Great stories - great company, excellent host. We'll be back! Thanks heaps Roffy!

Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Wairaurahiri Wilderness Jet, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank-you for the GREAT feed back it's really great to know we have provided a memorable day out .
Cheers Roffy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2013

It's always hard to find an activity to suit everyone for a social club outing, but Paul had the ideal solution for us.
Every body had a great time Beautiful day on lake Hauroko with a quick stop at teal bay hut, then on to the river, with a few stops on the way for points of interest and down to the lodge for an amazing BBQ lunch.
Paul was friendly, informative & professional & we would recommend him to anyone.
Thanks again.

Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Wairaurahiri Wilderness Jet, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Your group made it easy for me Paul. Thanks for your review Cheers Roffy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wairaurahiri Wilderness Jet also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Wairaurahiri Wilderness Jet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing