We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Well Priced Meals”

Waxy O'Shea's Irish Pub
Ranked #10 of 100 Restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great pub with large dining restuarant - good varied menu and on the main shopping street in Invercargill - usually pretty busy place.
Invercargill
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Well Priced Meals”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We visit Waxy's regularly on a Friday or Saturday nights - sometimes a Sunday lunch. Always good service, meals good and well priced. Will keep Waxy's on our list of restaurants.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RodneyInvercargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    88
    21
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good, honest pub grub.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I visited on a Monday evening and it was very quiet.

I was greeted and seated promptly and politely. The staff were all friendly and welcoming and the place had a nice atmosphere despite being quiet.

I was offered specials and chose both-a lovely mushroom soup followed by a steak main with egg, chips and a side salad. The portion was huge with a capital H and was hard to finish as there was so much.

Staff checked back on me and got me another beer as soon as my first ran out.

Overall I enjoyed the food and the service and will definitely return.

At the end of the day it's a pub and you get pub grub, but if that's what you want it's a great option.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulrproctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Meal and beer”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Had the meal deal on Waitaki day which was very good but beer was not up to speights. Staff were friendly but thought the décor was too dark.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
394 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Great service - huge food portions”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We visited Waxy's early evening on a Wednesday. Initially, it wasn't very busy but quickly filled up. Service was very prompt and very friendly. We all had various fish meals (salmon, fish&chips) and the quality was great and portions very large.

The Guiness was good and the wine selection good. Overall an excellent meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“hmmm waxy's”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

nice waitress and surroundings. The meal was very nice but not a great deal of it. Much better than embers,but could do with a little more on the plate

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank scottie186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waxy O'Shea's Irish Pub also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Waxy O'Shea's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing