We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and friendly staff”

Waxy O'Shea's Irish Pub
Ranked #11 of 100 Restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great pub with large dining restuarant - good varied menu and on the main shopping street in Invercargill - usually pretty busy place.
Te Anau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Me and a friend went to this pub unexpectedly one evening. we find the staff very friendly and pleasant. the food selection is very good and the atmosphere is great too. we both ordered steaks which happened to be the special of the day and it was cooked to perfection. the portion is sufficient enough for a big eater like me. Overall we really like it here a lot and will definitely recommend to other people...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KowloonAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    88
    21
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food only fit for drinkers”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Was on a lunch break last week, and decided to try Waxys. Havent eaten here in a long time and havent ever before at lunch and thought why not give it a go..... well! I ordered a Chicken Panini, which I thought sounded healthy, and reasonably good... It was foul. Full of Cream Cheese, and hardly anything else! The only thing served with this was an amazing serving of fries that would serve two people.
It sounded healthy and nice, but really...
Invercargills obesity can somewhat be related to the ILT and not just the fast food outlets!!

Never again!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tabby15_Joo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best seafood chowder I have ever tasted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

The pub is set up inside to look like a church and my daughter and I got some great photos. Just a shame no Irish music was playing on Wednesday night but the place still had a great Irish feel about it. The food was fantastic and lots of it. We used a voucher from the Entertainment book so we got a very good deal. I would think that on a weekend the place would be buzzing.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toddhunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“warm irish pub restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

when going out to eat in invercargill definitely give waxys a try, great pub food, the lamb shanks are great and the irish breakfast is a big meal, having tried various restaraunts around the city, this stands out, the food is well priced, the atmosphere is good and the staff are generally good, we have dined here regularly and it is an enjoyable experience, a good place to catch the rugby, they have a couple of tvs dotted around and a big projector for big games, some nights they have live acoustic music to varying standards, but its a nice relaxing environment where you arent hurried along and can enjoy a gut busting meal, definitely worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank wainstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
“nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Nice irish pub / restaurant busy on the weekend!
good tab beer!!!
Sometime the restaurant is very cool!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank tom a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waxy O'Shea's Irish Pub also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Waxy O'Shea's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing