We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best stay in South Island so far awesome”
Review of 388 on Tay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Invercargill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
388 on Tay
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best stay in South Island so far awesome”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Great hosts could not fault anything this was our very best stay in 3 weeks of touring the South Island will always stay here again and advise anyone else to stay large unit very quiet super clean kitchen unit had everything we needed

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulhancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
54
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have stayed at this motel five times! The units are always are clean, modern and nicely appointed. The owner always remembers us from our previous booking history and if available gives us this lovely suite that gets the sun and is very spacious (unit 10). The beds and pillows are so comfortable, something that I struggle with normally when away. The other very thoughtful touch is whenever we have arrived on a cold day, we walk into a warmly heated unit!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegsNZ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowtown
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

we have stayed here before very clean comfortable hence we are back and handy to everything in invercargill.Spacious unit, very comfortable beds, our unit has a spa bath which is very welcoming after being on ones feet all day. We highly recommend this motel, we will be back.

Room Tip: All the units (except 1 & 2) are back off the road so little to no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineArrowtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curlewis, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My 3 adult daughters and I stayed two nights in a two bedroom room. Dianna was so welcoming, had the heaters on in the room for us...it felt like we were coming home! Room immaculately clean, kitchen very modern and good to use. Living area big enough for all 4 of us to stretch out. Dianna provided great advice on local dining options and tips on tours both around Invercargill and other places we were visiting.
Free unlimited wifi was a great hit for the girls. Quiet, comfy beds, a refreshing stay. Thanks!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AngeM2381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorokan, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Lovely large lounge, bedroom and bathroom in the 1 bedroom suite. Spotlessly clean and quiet. Owners very friendly. Wifi is now available at no charge. After dinner mints a nice touch.
Had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in a deluxe 1 bedroom suite with a great spa. Everything you could need for a short stay. sky channel selection is good, though there is no wifi. Rooms are very clean and good value for money. Use of guest laundry is great.

Room Tip: you will not be disappointed with a spa room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KylsF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
250 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 850 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our last stay in NZ after more than 3 weeks. The motel was neat and clean with an amazingly spotless bath. We got one of the corner suites (only 2) that has a very large room and large living area with kitchen. Dianna was very helpful about suggesting restaurants (Little India -best Indian food in NZ and 3Bean Cafe for breakfast) and several sights for us to see. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.6 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Birchwood Manor Motel
Birchwood Manor Motel
#14 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#10 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#4 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.3 mi away
295 on Tay Motel
295 on Tay Motel
#11 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 388 on Tay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 388 on Tay

Property: 388 on Tay
Address: 388 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#7 Business Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
388 On Tay Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing