We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy but well equipped”
Review of Bavarian Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bavarian Motel
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Lovely stay with John and Annabel. Perfect rooms with everything needed and very friendly. Just a bit noisy till late at night is the only downfall. Great breakfasts provided if you wish and knowledgeably about the things to do around the area. For cleanliness and value you couldn't get better.

Room Tip: As far back from the road as possible
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHorn, Owner at Bavarian Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, that our rooms are clean & have everything you need. Thank you for reviewing our Motel and hope that we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Bavarian Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 38 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

Great value, great service, excellent location if you dont mind being out of town a little, just couldnt fault great service. As was last min. booking and busy weekend in town, single bed was put in lounge in no time at all. Thanks again for very nice stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwi_Travellers3204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHorn, Owner at Bavarian Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our motel. It is good to hear that you appreciated our motel & service, we enjoy welcomeing people to stay here. Please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We travelled down for the Bluff Oyster Festival and John was happy to take our booking 10 months out from the festival. We found our unit beautifully clean and very, very warm. The bed was comfortable and it was bliss having the extra TV in the bedroom as at one point I was suffering from a cold so I just snuggled down and relaxed! John and Annabel are such lovely hosts and we would definitely go back and stay with them again.

We had a rental car so it didn't matter to us that it was situated on the fringe of the city centre.

Room Tip: Try and request a unit that is not too close to the main road if you are worried about traffic noise...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 810Teresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHorn, Owner at Bavarian Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thanks for your kind review. It sounds like you had a welcome break and enjoyed your time in Invercargill and the Bluff Oyster Festival. Regards Annabel & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed one night and found the rooms were extremely clean and tidy. However we found the bed very hard and road noise was very noticeable during the night. It is some distance from central town but that didnt worry us. If you are after cleanliness and value i would highy recommend the hotel. If you are after 4 star luxury i would suggest staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: As far from the road as possible
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TandaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHorn, Owner at Bavarian Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you for your review of Bavarian Motel. The comfort of the beds is something we always consider when we purchase new ones. We know our guests travel and are well informed about bed comfort. Bavarian Motel appreciates you great comments about cleanliness.
We are becoming aware that the Trip Advisor guest review rating is more important than the outdated Qualmark Star rating system.
We hope the rest of your holiday was enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Good motel. Would stay again without hesitation. A bit too far from town to walk but taxi only $15 or thereabouts, plus drivers are friendly and happy to make recommendations for food/drink. Plus, if we drove ourselves one of us would have to be the sober driver. Altogether not a problem being out of town.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZBeerMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHorn, Owner at Bavarian Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you, NZBeerMonster (l do like the name, there must be a story there) for the great review.
We have a list in the compendium of the restaurants who will do complimentary transfers to and from their establishments.
Thanks for choosing Bavarian Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great stay, friendly hosts, motel is away from the hustle and bustle of town, free internet a real bonus plus having a second television in the bedroom was a grand idea. Always good to get rewarded for staying though their reward program as well.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BernieNapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHorn, Owner at Bavarian Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

BernieNapier, Thanks for the great review. You are always welcome at Bavarian Motel. We hope your business travels prove successful. We will see you next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

First time visitors to Invercargill. Rooms spacious, clean, comfortable and had the best nights sleep. John and Amanda most helpful. We were traveling on to Te Anau and asked for a recommendation of where to stay and they offered to book ahead for us. Thanks for that, made things so much easier for us once we got to Te Anau. Would stay again and most definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHorn, Owner at Bavarian Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thanks Jennifer & Brod for your great recommendation.
being a member of the Host Accommodation Group makes it easy to find accommodation in other places in New Zealand.
We hope the rest of your holiday was fantastic.
Regards
Annabel & John
Bavarian Motel
Invercargill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
2.7 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
319 reviews
0.6 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
3.1 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Heritage Court Motel
Heritage Court Motel
#19 of 33 in Invercargill
21 reviews
3.4 mi away
Coachman's Inn
Coachman's Inn
#31 of 33 in Invercargill
23 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hacienda Motel
Hacienda Motel
#21 of 33 in Invercargill
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Motel

Address: 444 North Rd, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range: $67 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bavarian Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian Motel is a 4-Star owner-operated property and a member of the Host Accommodation Group. We have ground-floor apartments each with separate bedrooms with parking at the door. Large warm comfortable & clean rooms. Free Fibre WiFi, 32" Smart TV with Netflix & Freeview. Our guests are warmly welcomed by Annabel and John who offer great southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bavarian Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Motel Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing