We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice quiet place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bavarian Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bavarian Motel
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice quiet place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had a very nice 2 bedroom unit. Kitchen was complete, even has a oven. For dinner we went to a grocery store just down the street and baked our own meat pies for dinner. Everything was clean and tidy. The owners were very helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seethworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHorn, Owner at Bavarian Motel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for the review and great comments about Bavarian Motel.
It is always great to have international visitors to Invercargill and spend time here.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your New Zealand vacation.
Regards
John & Annabel
Bavarian Motel
Host Accommodation Group member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
19
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Motueka, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

John and Amanda are great hosts, with a motel unit to suit your pocket and requirements. We always find the furniture very comfortable. Love the big comfortable beds, which is so important when you are on the road all the time. The motel is in a great location, not far from a supermarket if you wish to cook your own meals. And great when you are heading off to/towards Queenstown.

Room Tip: Tell John and/or Amanda what you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBavarian, Owner at Bavarian Motel, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thanks Miriam for the kind words. At the end of a long working the least we can offer is a bit of comfort and relaxation. You are always welcome at Bavarian Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

Maybe it's just invercargill! But I found the accommodation rather average. It was promoted as 4 star and I've been to a lot of places before this was no 4 star accommodation. The couches were very uncomfortable and the bathrooms felt like a prison cell as the toilet and shower shared the same flooring and it felt like you could just be hosed off in it. On a plus side there was a faint trace of Internet that you could use and a small portion of food for breakfast as well As parking outside the unit and sky channels. Just like to know what I'm in for as the standard of 4 star accommodation is a bit different elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hetrogenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBavarian, Owner at Bavarian Motel, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our accommodation. I have checked the records and you used the internet without any problems, it appears. The lack of quality and comfort of the couch has not been brought to our attention before, (maybe guests are too polite to say). However, we always listen and will review our future purchases of furniture. Qualmark NZ is an independent organisation which assesses NZ accommodation and we are assessed annually for our standards. Bavarian Motel has been awarded 4+Star for the last 6 years. It would be great if you (hetrogenius) could remove the photo of the outside-garden view, as it is not our motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

Clean tidy accommodation at a reasonable price. A little bit out of town but not a problem as we have to drive everywhere anyway. Friendly helpfull hosts

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBavarian, Owner at Bavarian Motel, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
It is always nice to meet great guests. Thanks for the great comment. We hope you make Bavarian Motel your choice next time you visit Invercargill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

Although a little north of the centre of Invercargill, the unit was very good and comfortable. Everal choices of breakfast is required and not too pricey. Free Internet which is always a bonus.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBavarian, Owner at Bavarian Motel, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Annabel & John would like to thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Invercargill's Bavarian Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

My wife and I have travelled widely and this place would be near the top of our list. I also am a university lecturer in tourism so perhaps look at situations quite critically but have absolutely no problems with this one !
thanks folks

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pussNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBavarian, Owner operator at Bavarian Motel, responded to this review, January 12, 2010
Thank you for staying with us and your great comments are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

a lovely 2 bedroom apartment - clean well equipped kitchen - apartments genuine 2 bedrooms
friendly and helpful hosts
very nice apartment warm and comfortable big bathroom for an apartment and they look fairly newly refurbished -

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBavarian, Owner Operators at Bavarian Motel, responded to this review, August 8, 2009
Thank you for the positive response and taking time to visit Invercargill. We wish you had great time in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
2.9 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#15 of 33 in Invercargill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.7 mi away
Asure Evergreen Motel
Asure Evergreen Motel
#25 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Surrey Court Motel
Surrey Court Motel
#20 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
2.3 mi away
Heritage Court Motel
Heritage Court Motel
#19 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
3.2 mi away
554 Moana Court Motel
554 Moana Court Motel
#18 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Motel

Property: Bavarian Motel
Address: 444 North Rd, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bavarian Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian Motel is a 4-Star owner-operated property and a member of the Host Accommodation Group. We have ground-floor apartments each with separate bedrooms with parking at the door. Large warm comfortable & clean rooms. Free Fibre WiFi, 32" Smart TV with Netflix & Freeview. Our guests are warmly welcomed by Annabel and John who offer great southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bavarian Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Motel Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing