We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome with an old-world flavour”
Review of Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Safari Lodge
Ranked #4 of 15 Invercargill B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 25, 2011

This was our second stay at Safari Lodge, and we were again struck by the warm welcome and friendly service from proprietors Trish and Ray.
We love the Victorian ambience of the Lodge with its many artefacts gleaned from the owners' five-year stay in Africa - which netted some great stories, too. Our bedroom with its compact en-suite was spacious, warm and comfy; breakfast was timed to suit; and we were allowed the run of the house between times, including the pool room and ginormous TV - which particularly impressed our 10-year-old - and the spa pool, great for cold bones after a long day outdoors.
Safari Lodge is convenient to central Invercargill, where there's more to attract the tourist than we'd expected; fortunately Trish and Ray are very knowledgeable about things to do and places to go.
They even used their mini van to deliver a group of us to an event, easier than a taxi and it meant we could safely have a drink or two - not an advertised service (and only available if they're available) but just another example of how happy they are to see you enjoy your stay.
A guest-dedicated computer terminal with Broadband meant I could easily despatch some work commitments too - without inconveniencing by holidaying companions.
Safari Lodge is far more than just another B&B; it's almost an experience in itself. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquimNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 56 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2010

We loved the reception and special attention to our personal needs. We also were invited to participate in a family dinner and were very impressed with the cuisine.
Breakfasts were great too.
Should we visit again we have no doubt where we would want to stay.
The authentic period interior of the establishment impressed us very much.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heurtley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We really enjoyed our short stay and regret we could not stay any longer. Hosts Ray and Trish made our stay a really really warm one, regardless of the snow outside (haha!!). If you drive by Invercargill, this is the please to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaartenClaudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Safari Lodge far surpast our expectation in comfort and hospitality. The Lodge is a gorgeous two story building which has been very tastefully restored to its former glory. The rooms are spacious and extremly comfortable, Complete with a king four poster bed, Each room has an ensuite, the quality of the furnishings is amazing. Through out the house is the safari theme. The hosts Ray and Trish where very welcoming and put on some excellent entertainment for us and others. If your heading to Invercargill the best place to stay is the Safari Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

This was our second time staying at Safari Lodge and once again we had a memorable experience. This is truly the best accommodation we've found in Southland NZ.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

As good as this home looks in pictures, you'll still be impressed when you walk through the front door.
Everything you'll need for your stay is there. Plenty of pillows and blankets, plenty of hot water and plenty of towels. The spa bath was lovely and great to "chill in". The Winter family treated us like part of the family and we felt very welcome. We'd definitely go back there if again in Invercargill.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMCMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2009

All of the rooms are unique in their own way. If it's an off peak period ask to have a look around first so you can take your pick.

It is an experience like no other. There's so many features to enjoy (incl an amazing spa room) and the owners are only obliging (never in your face).. Makes for a great get away in an unlikely city!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneKristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
2.2 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
377 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
319 reviews
1.2 mi away
Victoria Railway Hotel
Victoria Railway Hotel
#1 of 15 in Invercargill
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Manor Bed and Breakfast
The Manor Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 15 in Invercargill
49 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beersheba Estate
Beersheba Estate
#3 of 15 in Invercargill
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Rouge Bed and Breakfast
Villa Rouge Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 15 in Invercargill
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Lodge

Address: 51 Herbert Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Invercargill
Price Range: $129 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safari Lodge is luxury heritage 4 star plus accommodation situated 2 kilometers from Invercargill CBD, 1 kilometer from the information centre and 300 meters from Invercargill’s botanical gardens. Safari Lodge is one of Invercargill’s stately homes lovingly restored by present owners with a large display of African Art for guests to enjoy. All rooms have ensuites, in-house cafe with home cooked meals available on request Tariff includes drinks and nibbles on arrival plus continental and cooked breakfast served in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Lodge Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing