We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ziff's Cafe Bar Ltd

Ziff's Cafe Bar Ltd
Ranked #15 of 98 Restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: Cafe, European, New Zealand, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Wonderful service from the very pleasant staff - the seafood chowder is to die for and plenty of it. Meals are a good size.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank worldlywisenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    45
    8
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
124 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Acoustic Disaster”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

A great place only ten minutes out of Invercargill on the road to our terrific Oreti Beach, and perfect to take someone you really DON'T want to have a normal conversation with over your steak and glass of wine!! The food was fine, although the chicken on my pasta took some chewing and there was sooo much ice in my glass the orange juice was very watery from the first sip; but the noise level was horrendous! Our party of four had to practically yell at each other due to extremely loud party of eight on the other side of the room. It's not the first time we've experienced the over-the-top noise at this restaurant, and it makes it extremely uncomfortable and unpleasant for diners just wanting to enjoy a meal with normal conversation. Won't be in a hurry to go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hottees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bring hearing protection”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Really nice meal for 5 of us. Usually fillet steaks are quite small but mine was thick and cooked just nice. Couldn't fault the meal but we will never go back. A group of 8 people spoilt it with their loud laughter and chatter and while we were quite a distance away from them, the noise just seemed to escalate. You had to repeat yourself 2 or 3 times to make yourself heard. I did complain to the waitress and the noise did abate for 5 or 10 minutes, but that was all. While you expect noise when you go out, this was in the high decibel range and I do wonder how the hearing of the staff will be in a few years time as I can guarantee it was above the legal limit. They really need to do something about it as it completely ruined an otherwise lovely night. We would never go back until they get it sorted.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank scottie186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had the whole package”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Service was fantastic, food was great and we felt we could have stayed all day. Great atmosphere. We arrived as a large group with no booking but nothing was an issue. Everyone enjoyed their meals and pricing was very reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bex107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice food, lots of choice...but noise is a factor, and I was cold.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

There is plenty of choice. It is reasonable comfortable, once you find the place. I was feeling cold but it was Winter so what can you expect from open-plan type places? The food was very nice, no-one complained. If you have a couple of courses the bill adds up - but the quality of the food is good. Have been a couple of times but have no burning desire to go back. Service was ok. Noise was annoying. Overall, not too bad.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Styly_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ziff's Cafe Bar Ltd also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Ziff's Cafe Bar Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing