We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, lots of choice...but noise is a factor, and I was cold.”

Ziff's Cafe Bar Ltd
Ranked #17 of 99 Restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: Barbecue, Australian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
134 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Nice food, lots of choice...but noise is a factor, and I was cold.”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

There is plenty of choice. It is reasonable comfortable, once you find the place. I was feeling cold but it was Winter so what can you expect from open-plan type places? The food was very nice, no-one complained. If you have a couple of courses the bill adds up - but the quality of the food is good. Have been a couple of times but have no burning desire to go back. Service was ok. Noise was annoying. Overall, not too bad.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Styly_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    46
    12
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
200 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great place but so Noisy”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Lunch for 2, lovely food, the Seafood Basque is just excellent but as problem I have found before is the noise. Even though we had a late lunch at 2pm with the 2 TV screens of movie videos and a gaggle of loud people sitting 10 paces away the noise just bounced off the wooden floor. The menu here offers plenty of choice without becoming a book and the service and decor as well as food are all good. Just wish it was carpeted or something to soak up the clatter.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ginadigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I recently held a family dinner for my Mother's Birthday, having booked this from Australia. The staff were so helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Everyone had a lovely night.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LynDMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra NZ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Good Night Out”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Have dined here quite a few times ,meals always great ,the plate is always very full and enjoyable ,have never had a bad experience,my only flinch is a bit noise ,accustics could be better

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandraNZRarofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“After all day traveling, dessert was awarded”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Upon arriving in Invercargill I was ready for dessert.
We pulled up at Ziffs and were quickly shown to a lovely table by the fire, with booth like seating. We were only after dessert but were given water and offered drinks also. Two of us ordered the ice cream filo, one ordered the brownie and the other an ice cream sundae. The restaurant wasn't very busy but still had good atmosphere. We enjoyed our desserts. Please note the portions are very large, just what the southlanders are after I imagine!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 62Love2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ziff's Cafe Bar Ltd also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Ziff's Cafe Bar Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing