We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My New Zealand Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Speights Ale House

Speights Ale House
Ranked #7 of 98 Restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $27
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Soups, New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Southern most Speight's Ale House in New Zealand. Offering only the freshest local produce along with the best tap beer selection in Invercargill.Come and experience Southlands friendly hospitality with food and wine to match everyones tastes.
AZ.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“My New Zealand Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Good cold beer. a great fish and chips dinner. The local band that played that night was good. Very friendly people.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank worldtravler83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    109
    23
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundas Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lamb Shanks are Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We are a mature couple stopping in Invercargill on our way to and from Stewart Island. Speight's was very busy on a Thursday night and we were kindly told upon entering that we would have a considerable wait for our meal. We decided to go elsewhere. We returned on Sunday evening, thinking that this must be a good place to eat given its popularity. We ordered the lamb shanks, which were described as "falling off the bone" tender. They were neither tender nor falling off the bone unfortunately. They were tough and dry. My partner ordered the lamb salad which was considerably better but nothing to write home about. The beer was good though, the Summit Lager.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We enjoyed a very nice meal here - the menu was extensive, the staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was delicious

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
190 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Really Laid Back Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

I had a nice spot looking out at a not very busy street in January. Cricket was on the tv behind me; a few diners about. A bit early, but things never got really noisy. There was a large party upstairs but the place could accommodate them all. Had a Speights to go with a very hearty meal - potatoes, pork roast with cracklin (too hard to eat yet there), vegetable medley. No pressure to finish up and it did take me a while to wade through. Fully sated and plenty of time needed to find someone to give me a bill at the end of it all. In the States, typically, a served would have asked a dozen times how everything was and would have given me a bill before the meal was half finished. Here the service was unobtrusive (understatement); the food adequate; overall good value.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nomad_rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Standard Fare”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We took pot luck with a dinner booking on a Monday night and were lucky enough to be found a seat upstairs. We had a long wait for service, though, and that meant no offer of a drink even before our order was taken. The meals were ok but not to the standard of other Speights pubs we have dined at we thought. The food is quite pricey for what you get.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tanpic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speights Ale House also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Speights Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing