We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveler rating
100
1
1
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
100
1
1
0
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 104 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed three nights at Kaimata Retreat and it was truly special. Kyle and Rachel were wonderful hosts and made our stay more than perfect. Always helpful and pleasant with suggestions about activities, made phone calls for us, took us to the warf and carried us to the end of the Otago Inlet with their boat, all with a smile. Here we were able to walk the beach with no one except the sea lions and seals. In the morning we saw the Salmon feeding and when the tide came in the dophins came in as well. Kaimata Retreat is truly a special place. The chef was excellent with wonderful local dishes such us fish and lamb. We would certainly recommend this Retreat to family and friends without hesitation.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianneW410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaimataRetreat, Owner at Kaimata Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you very much for staying at Kaimata Retreat! the best part of being involved with the lodge is the super people we are so fortunate to meet. We love where we live and it is a pleasure to be able to share this distinctive part of New Zealand. Being able to walk a deserted beach alongside the South Pacific Ocean, to chance observe wild life, their activities, or lack of ... innate sea lion in slumber - Pacific does mean "peaceful" ...
Ngā mihi nui (with best wishes) - we look forward to hosting your family and friends one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have traveled much of the world and stayed in some pretty great places, but Kaimata is just at the top of any list. Kyle and Rachel are wonderful people, posters for Kiwi charm. You shouldn't separate the beauty of the resort itself from them; they built it, they decorated it, and they keep it perfect with great grace and easy humor. The views are positively biblical, the activities as robust or as quiet as you wish, the personal chef (Pedro, from Chile) was 5 star quality, and the overall experience divine. We know we will be back!

Room tip: Each of the rooms is perfect. The one in the main building does not have the sweeping ocean view, but is still glorious.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaimataRetreat, Owner at Kaimata Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you very much for staying at Kaimata Retreat and your generous feedback - it was really just wonderful to meet 'ya'all' thank you for your warmth of spirit and appreciation of our offerings - the retreat is to present a comfortable place from which to appreciate the open land, water scapes and wildlife activity. one day Mavericks and Redwood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We arrived at Kaimata at februari the third, on a Sonny day. We were welcomed by Kyle, the manager who showed us his beautifull place in which we woudloper stay for two days. It is a modern place to stay and it when you are there you Will entourage your stay, like we did. Sitting in front of the room, you have a magnificent view and you can entourage nature and the birds. You can walk or run up the Hill and have an even beter view towards the ocean and spot seals and albatrossen overtreden. The rooms are very neat and its a great place to stay heen you visit the Otago peninsula, due to the hospitality of Kyle, Rachel and n-z masterchief for us especially: pedro

Room tip: To enjoy nature in a stylist place, Kaimata is the place to be
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaimataRetreat, Owner at Kaimata Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you very much for staying at Kaimata Retreat ! Great you were able to sit for a time and watch the estuary activity - wildlife comings and goings. Pre-dinner stroll to the hills bend and enjoy South Pacific ocean views looking down Papanui Inlet bar and the length of Victory beach, or, early morning jog along the estuary road passing swans, herons and spoonbills feeding with the tides. Muchisimas gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

the lodge and the room was beautiful with a great view! we enjoyed our stay there very much! the silence and the wildlife are fantastic! In the evening, we had our own chef Pedro. He cooked like a hero delicious dinners and was a little bit our host... He knew a lot of interesting things about the region. Our host showed us some sealions with his boat, which was a big adventure. thanks!

Date of stay: January 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank DanielKneubuehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaimataRetreat, Owner at Kaimata Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you very much for staying at Kaimata Retreat ! and thank you for your review - wonderful you had enjoyable evening with chef Pedros 'southern' hospitality and cuisine - delicious foods served with care. The Hooker's sea lion are one of the rarest species of sea lion in the world - such impressive mammals, their water finesse spectacular to observe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

On our 4 week trip through NZ north and south islands we were lucky to find this place. Thank you, Rachael & Kyle, for this extraordinary stay in your beautiful house high above the blue lagoon, thank you for the friendly welcome, for helpful advice to plan some special excursions in your region, for the outstanding breakfast and exquisite dinners by Pedro, for a well working WiFi, for the unforgettable boattrip and for all the interesting conversations. We will surely be back at this lovely place, whenever we will be in NZ again. Droli & Andi Baumgartner from Switzerland

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Droli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaimataRetreat, Owner at Kaimata Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Kaimata Retreat! We are so pleased you found us too ! A good day can be spent exploring Otago Peninsula scenery, special biodiversity and history. Dunedin's Otago Harbour is 20 km long, popular for water sports and industry. The south-eastern shores quite different, offer wave tossed coastlines, majestic ocean views and much more. Lots to see and do. Thankyou for your review - that you had a lovely retreat experience -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews