We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaimata Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kaimata Retreat
Ranked #11 of 63 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Of all the beautiful places we stayed during our month long trip round NZ Kaimata comes out tops. It is quite a way out from Dunedin on rather narrow, twisting roads. Our satnav took us on a very odd route and at the end of a very long drive we wondered where on earth we were going. However all our misgivings were immediately dispelled when we arrived and saw this amazing house and fantastic location. Things got even better when Rachel told us that as we were the only guests for our two night stay and we had the whole house to ourselves. Then the lovely Pedro, our private chef, arrived and proceeded to produce a divine meal. Next morning we woke to the smell of fresh coffee, table beautifully laid, the log fire crackling merrily in the grate and Pedro in the kitchen preparing breakfast. It was truly like being in a Hollywood movie.

We have both travelled extensively and stayed in many different types of accommodation, but staying here was a truly unique and amazing experience. If you are interested in wildlife there is nowhere better. We took a boat trip to see the albatross colony and the yellow eyed penguin reserve which was really wonderful. The visit to Larnach castle was also very interesting. Our only regret was that we hadn't booked to stay for an extra couple of nights. Oh and once we had done it a second time and been directed to the shortest route, the drive into Dunedin was really OK. If you plan to visit the Dunedin area, don't miss the chance of staying in this amazing house.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheilanorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaimataRetreat, Owner at Kaimata Retreat, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you very much for staying at Kaimata Retreat whilst visiting the Otago Peninsula ! We are delighted you enjoyed your time here - tena koe (thank you) for your review. A number of guests have commented that their satnav took them on a bit of a 'tiki tour' (roundabout way) before final arrival at the lodge ... we always hope the retreat and location will serve to soothe a weary traveller! There is much to see and do if you wish to absorb the peninsulas unique coastal landscapes and very special wildlife. Yes, we would recommend a 2 -3 night stay as that allows you a full day of exploration - we have more suggestions on your return !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    1
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
81
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed three nights at Kaimata Retreat and it was truly special. Kyle and Rachel were wonderful hosts and made our stay more than perfect. Always helpful and pleasant with suggestions about activities, made phone calls for us, took us to the warf and carried us to the end of the Otago Inlet with their boat, all with a smile. Here we were able to walk the beach with no one except the sea lions and seals. In the morning we saw the Salmon feeding and when the tide came in the dophins came in as well. Kaimata Retreat is truly a special place. The chef was excellent with wonderful local dishes such us fish and lamb. We would certainly recommend this Retreat to family and friends without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianneW410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaimataRetreat, Owner at Kaimata Retreat, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you very much for staying at Kaimata Retreat! the best part of being involved with the lodge is the super people we are so fortunate to meet. We love where we live and it is a pleasure to be able to share this distinctive part of New Zealand. Being able to walk a deserted beach alongside the South Pacific Ocean, to chance observe wild life, their activities, or lack of ... innate sea lion in slumber - Pacific does mean "peaceful" ...
Ngā mihi nui (with best wishes) - we look forward to hosting your family and friends one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have traveled much of the world and stayed in some pretty great places, but Kaimata is just at the top of any list. Kyle and Rachel are wonderful people, posters for Kiwi charm. You shouldn't separate the beauty of the resort itself from them; they built it, they decorated it, and they keep it perfect with great grace and easy humor. The views are positively biblical, the activities as robust or as quiet as you wish, the personal chef (Pedro, from Chile) was 5 star quality, and the overall experience divine. We know we will be back!

Room Tip: Each of the rooms is perfect. The one in the main building does not have the sweeping ocean view, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaimataRetreat, Owner at Kaimata Retreat, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much for staying at Kaimata Retreat and your generous feedback - it was really just wonderful to meet 'ya'all' thank you for your warmth of spirit and appreciation of our offerings - the retreat is to present a comfortable place from which to appreciate the open land, water scapes and wildlife activity. one day Mavericks and Redwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franz' Jozef
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We arrived at Kaimata at februari the third, on a Sonny day. We were welcomed by Kyle, the manager who showed us his beautifull place in which we woudloper stay for two days. It is a modern place to stay and it when you are there you Will entourage your stay, like we did. Sitting in front of the room, you have a magnificent view and you can entourage nature and the birds. You can walk or run up the Hill and have an even beter view towards the ocean and spot seals and albatrossen overtreden. The rooms are very neat and its a great place to stay heen you visit the Otago peninsula, due to the hospitality of Kyle, Rachel and n-z masterchief for us especially: pedro

Room Tip: To enjoy nature in a stylist place, Kaimata is the place to be
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaimataRetreat, Owner at Kaimata Retreat, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you very much for staying at Kaimata Retreat ! Great you were able to sit for a time and watch the estuary activity - wildlife comings and goings. Pre-dinner stroll to the hills bend and enjoy South Pacific ocean views looking down Papanui Inlet bar and the length of Victory beach, or, early morning jog along the estuary road passing swans, herons and spoonbills feeding with the tides. Muchisimas gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

the lodge and the room was beautiful with a great view! we enjoyed our stay there very much! the silence and the wildlife are fantastic! In the evening, we had our own chef Pedro. He cooked like a hero delicious dinners and was a little bit our host... He knew a lot of interesting things about the region. Our host showed us some sealions with his boat, which was a big adventure. thanks!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielKneubuehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaimataRetreat, Owner at Kaimata Retreat, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you very much for staying at Kaimata Retreat ! and thank you for your review - wonderful you had enjoyable evening with chef Pedros 'southern' hospitality and cuisine - delicious foods served with care. The Hooker's sea lion are one of the rarest species of sea lion in the world - such impressive mammals, their water finesse spectacular to observe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interlaken, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

On our 4 week trip through NZ north and south islands we were lucky to find this place. Thank you, Rachael & Kyle, for this extraordinary stay in your beautiful house high above the blue lagoon, thank you for the friendly welcome, for helpful advice to plan some special excursions in your region, for the outstanding breakfast and exquisite dinners by Pedro, for a well working WiFi, for the unforgettable boattrip and for all the interesting conversations. We will surely be back at this lovely place, whenever we will be in NZ again. Droli & Andi Baumgartner from Switzerland

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Droli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaimataRetreat, Owner at Kaimata Retreat, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Kaimata Retreat! We are so pleased you found us too ! A good day can be spent exploring Otago Peninsula scenery, special biodiversity and history. Dunedin's Otago Harbour is 20 km long, popular for water sports and industry. The south-eastern shores quite different, offer wave tossed coastlines, majestic ocean views and much more. Lots to see and do. Thankyou for your review - that you had a lovely retreat experience -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a unique place to stay, it is a bit of a drive from Dunedin, so make sure you have nothing planned there as it takes 30 minutes or so to get to the lodge. But it is a wonderful drive. When we arrived we had no idea what to expect as our travel agency booked it for us. And what a pleasant surprise it was! The lodge is stunning with great views, a place you read a book and find yourself only looking outside... We stayed 2 nights and both nights enjoyed the wonderful dinner Pedro prepared for us. Really nice and different combinations with fresh ingredients from the area and caught by Kyle.
Danielle made us a marvelous breakfasts that were enough for breakfast and lunch. Rachel & Kyle and the two chefs make this place even more special. Make sure you see the albatrosses and the wildlife in the area (penguins, seals and sea lions). And stay a couple of nights, we had loved to stay there longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaimataRetreat, Owner at Kaimata Retreat, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Kaimata Retreat during your time on the Otago Peninsula ! It is a good 25 minute drive from Dunedin following Portobello Road harbour-side to Portobello village, from here, you depart from the main road, your last 8 km are over narrow gravel roads winding around Hoopers Inlet and Papanui Inlet estuaries ... 'the road less travelled' ... I think many a guest have wondered where their journey will end ! We are pleased you enjoyed Chefs foods and retreat ambiance. Our foods are sourced fresh daily and locally produced as much as possible, complementing our southern wild food focus - kaiora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
4.2 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#8 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
10.0 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
10.4 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Portobello Motel
Portobello Motel
#1 of 2 in Portobello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
9.9 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
2.8 mi away
Treetops B&B
Treetops B&B
#1 of 1 in Portobello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaimata Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaimata Retreat

Property: Kaimata Retreat
Address: 297 Cape Saunders Road | Otago Peninsula, Dunedin 9077, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kaimata Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From Winter 2015, Kaimata Retreat will offer private luxury rental villa accommodation on the Otago Peninsula. The retreat offers 3 rooms with ensuites, open plan living/dining with fully equipped kitchen and is available for exclusive-use self contained for 1 -6 guests. This is self contained, there are no food services available on site. This is an optimal location for travellers, groups of friends and getaways to enjoy the natural settings of the Otago Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Kaimata Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing