We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$142
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$142
View deal
Agoda.com
$123
View deal
Expedia.com$142
Hotels.com$142
travelup.com$164
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
595 results
Traveler rating
461
112
11
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
461
112
11
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews post office washing machine and dryer great hotel push button one bedroom suite comfortable bed generous size historic building huge bathroom hotel room appointed rooms railway station central location centre of town comfortable stay parcel shower
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 595 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2019 via mobile

This place is stunning. The accomodation is world class. Rooms are really modern and tidy. We didn’t eat here and that’s simply because Dunedin has so much to offer but the restaurants at the hotel look fantastic. Would highly recommend. The only hiccup was the very slight damage to the rental car which they were totally up front about.

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank P9004PPstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionDunedin, Manager at Distinction Dunedin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2019

Hi there,

We really appreciate your wonderful comments. Thanks for taking the time to convey your thoughts.

It is great that you thought so highly of our world class accommodation. Distinction Dunedin is a superlative hotel in so many aspects, including the rooms as you mention, but also our on site Parcels Restaurant and our wondrous staff. Thanks so much for your recommendation.

We would be very happy to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Nigel
Distinction Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2019 via mobile

Stayed in a very clean, comfortable and quiet room for 3 nights on the top floor. Renovated big bathroom with a washing machine and drier. Small kitchen with microwave attached to the room. The only disappointment was the buffet breakfast. Very limited food, no omelet station, no barista coffee included. Not worth paying extra for the buffet breakfast. It should be included in the room at no extra cost.The Vanguard cafe is just around the corner with nice food and coffee.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sanway1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionDunedin, Manager at Distinction Dunedin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2019

Hi Sanway1505,

Thank you very much for your five star rating. It is very pleasing to receive your assent on most aspects of Distinction Dunedin.

Regarding your remarks concerning your breakfast experience, it is a shame that the buffet arrangements were not to your liking. It should be pointed out to the TripAdvisor community that guests may order an omelette from our a la carte menu should they so desire, and our excellent espresso coffee is also of course available on request. However, neither item is included in the price of a buffet breakfast.

While we do offer some rates which are breakfast inclusive, we also allow guests their free-agency and to decide if they do or do not want breakfast included in the room tariff. These guests are then able to charge their breakfast directly to their room, allowing greater flexibility. Therefore, including the cost of breakfast in the total room rate would simply mean there would be no discreet charges for breakfast – the net result and outlay would be much the same. The same principle applies to our espresso coffee offerings.

Thanks again for your feedback. It would be lovely to see you again.

Best regards

Nigel
Distinction Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2019 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in an excellent room - clean, nicely set up and really comfortable. I remember this building when it was a Post Office - much better now.
Staff were attentive and polite.
Dinner was well presented and tasty and again excellent service.
Great place for a weekend break or work. Close to CBD so could walk to town.
Highly recommended and reasonably priced for the class of hotel.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank adeejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionDunedin, Manager at Distinction Dunedin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2019

Greetings adeejay,

Thank you very much for your great review of Distinction Dunedin. It is excellent that your three nights with us recently were so thoroughly enjoyable.

We are so pleased that all staff were attentive and polite in their manner. Furthermore, we are happy that Parcels Restaurant on the ground floor provided their typically tasty treats and that the team(s) who served you were on their game throughout.

As you note, whether on business or leisure, being situated only a short stroll from the focal Octagon area of the CBD ensures easy access to wherever it is that you are heading.

Thank you kindly again for your impressions. We hope to see you on your return.

Kind regards

Nigel
Distinction Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019 via mobile

My trip the NZ started on a bit of a disastrous start with my almost missing a flight and my luggage not joining me for the trip. The hotel staff were incredibly welcoming and really fun. All staff (reception and staff in the restaurant) were professional, hardworking, kind and really helpful!

The hotel itself was also outstanding. Really stunning room, great facilities and a really comfortable stay. The bathroom was spacious with a really cool button in the shower which turns the water on at the perfect temperature.

Thanks for a great stay!!!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank TheoK244
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionDunedin, Manager at Distinction Dunedin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2019

Hello Theo,

Thank you very much for your kind words on Distinction Dunedin. We are glad that we helped to negate the inauspicious beginning to your travels.

We really appreciate your excellent appraisal of our wondrous staff, in both the Food & Beverage and Front Office departments respectively. They are all indeed professional, hardworking, kind and helpful, as perusing our TripAdvisor reviews will reveal. It is heartening that you are of a similar mind.

It is fantastic too that you hold our room facilities, in particular the bathroom features, in such high regard. We are thrilled that each of these aspects combined equated to an excellent 5 star experience.

Many gracious thanks again. Please feel free to visit us in the near future.

Best regards

Nigel
Distinction Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

Everything really good until the set menu meal , 2 choice entree, mushroom soup or salmon salad nice mushroom soup. 2 choice mains chicken or lamb , opted for the lamb , because of Chicken allergy, every body satisfied with the lamb at our table, except me , I got the end piece of rump . Tough, grizzly under cooked,( road kill ). Apology from serving staff, offered a drink, not a meal replacement. Disappointed.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionDunedin, Manager at Distinction Dunedin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2019

Hi Alan,

Thank you for taking a moment to comment on your recent visit. We truly appreciate your thoughts.

It is great that in general terms all was very well received, particularly the room, the service and the view.

However, we are sorry that you were not satisfied with your set menu experience. While we are very glad that all other members in your group enjoyed their lamb, it is regrettable that the restaurant staff did not rectify your particular complaint to your satisfaction. Please accept our sincere apologies. I have passed your message on to our Restaurant Manager for further investigation.

Nonetheless, we hope to see you again if your are in this region in the future. All the best.

Kind regards

Nigel
Distinction Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews