We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Two Chefs Bistro

Two Chefs Bistro
Ranked #17 of 353 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Wellington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We went to Two Chefs for a birthday celebration and loved it! So we went back the next night too. The woman running things out the front was calm and assured; giving the restaurant a pleasant atmosphere. She made the best ever pre dinner drinks. All the food was quite fabulous, and a bit unusual. Not sure we can think of a better restaurant in NZ.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simonlmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    79
    22
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quality French style restaurant”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Liked the look of the menu which was a bit different to the run of the mill, Meal did not disappoint and was the equal of many I have had in France. As others have commented the ensemble of good service, good food and good value made for a wonderful meal and I only regret that I may never have reason to visit Dunedin and enjoy it again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Plowst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great service”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Restaurant is located slightly south of the octagon and is very easy to find.

There were only 2 staff . One obviously more senior and another who had just started working a week. They did an amazing job serving and attending to the 20 or so diners. The newbie attended to us and was obliging , friendly and attentive . Well done !

Food was great
The ribeye and lamb which we had ordered were delicious. Portions were just about right . Tastes, flavors and presentation were of top standards.

Desserts : Affogato and the pana cotta were divine !
Made us want seconds

Would definitely recommend to others as well as revisit it ourselves when we return to Dunedin.

It is slightly more pricey that your average restaurant but the ambience , service and food justify the costs.

Helpful?
Thank NimBiTus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant highlight of our recent trip to Dunedin. Entrees and main courses were well cooked and delicious. Service was attentive without being over bearing. Will definitely return

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annietag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great food and really nice environment/atmosphere. Would definitely return. First time I had eaten rabbit (entree) and I was pleasantly surprised. Everyone at our table raved about their food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tripJan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Chefs Bistro also viewed

 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Two Chefs Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing