We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An affordable meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Speight's Alehouse

Speight's Alehouse
Ranked #6 of 325 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub, Soups, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An affordable meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was one of three Speights Ale Houses that we ate at and even though we did not book the staff were very helpful and made room for us. The meals are well proportioned and very affordable. The Brewery itself is a very nice place to eat

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    290
    87
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Worth visiting Speights”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Well worth visiting Speights Brewery. We did a tour & tasting, followed by dinner. Most enjoyable & I liked the beer very much..

Service at the restaurant was excellent, Food was plentiful. But I didnt think the quality was anything special. More an event than fine dining, based on my experiences in Australian & NZ cafes/ pubs.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OscottGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A regular stop when in Dunedin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

As a business traveller I always make a point of stopping in at the Speights Ale house when I am in Dunners for work. And, because I'm in Otago I invariably end up having the Venison.. :) As well as a few pitchers of ale. This is a great location to watch a super rugby or All Blacks game.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VonDutch1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good beer and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We liked this place so much, the excellent bar in the old brewery setting and the great ales, Gold Medal is superb and the food very good indeed. We enjoyed it so much we returned for our second nights meal and were not disappointed. Excellent value and with such very good service with a smile.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GeoffandMickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
180 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“A very good option for dinner in Dunedin.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a very good place to have dinner as food is very consistent and with very generous portions while prices are quite reasonable. We had two mains (pasta and filet mignon) plus two pints of the excellent beer they brew themselves for just 71 NZD. Place was quiet packed and service quite efficient as well. This may be one of the best options to dine in Dunedin or just enjoy their good beer.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Prayanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speight's Alehouse also viewed

 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Speight's Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing