We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, average service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Speight's Alehouse

Speight's Alehouse
Ranked #6 of 325 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub, Soups, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Christchurch
Level Contributor
123 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food, average service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great loaf, good steak. Wait staff great but when I walked in I held the door for the owner and he just walked in with out a word. Small thing I know but when you own an establishment, surely you would be pleased of the customers that come in to create his income. Also kitchen staff member was obviously getting personal calls on the phone at the bar. This could be done anywhere else rather than the bar we the clients are. We have come to spend money to enjoy a drink and a meal not to listen to the issues of the staff.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank RoseandTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    289
    87
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good for drinks - dinner not so much.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Visited with a purpose of dinner. Food was quite expensive to NZ pub food standards. (Ie fish & chips $26) Food came out literally 3 minutes after we ordered (chicken & pork) which suggests it's all premade and reheated. My chicken was dry even after covered in sauce.
Now the positives- the place looks lovely, great atmosphere, and staff were nice. I would come back for a drink, or lunch as lunch menu was cheaper and had different things on it. Definitely don't bother with dinner here- perfect venue for pre dinner beers though.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 0nHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food, generous proportions, and beer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We tried the tasting board of the beers to try them all which was really good. We shared it as each sample was a whole glass of beer! For dinner, we tried the lamb and the ribs which were both very tasty. There is more sort of bistro type seating behind the bar, but we sat at the front on stools made from what looked like old metal tractor seats and high tables. There's also an open fire. It was good value and had a cheery atmosphere.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank georgiamiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Speights Ale House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

After the Brewery tour, had dinner at their restaurant
Had an excellent menu, with all kinds of dishes.
Decor was different and historic.
I had a chowder soup which was very creamy and tasty.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food was average Service was awful!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Speight' tour itself is great, lots of stuff I never knew about beer...our tour guide was Graham and he was fabulous....with a great sense of humor and plenty of knowledge as he is a Master Brewer! Skip the meal, the food was average and the service was just horrible. we never saw the waiter again after the meal was served and he didn't just ignore us as we saw several tables that were treated just as poorly. Do the tour for sure, skip the food package as there are plenty of good eats around and they serve Speight's most places.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChickieGalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speight's Alehouse also viewed

 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Speight's Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing