We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast for the visitors from Melbourne”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rhubarb

Rhubarb
Ranked #72 of 330 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast for the visitors from Melbourne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Friends recommended Rhubarb as a good place for breakfast / brunch with Melbourne style coffee and food.

We jumped in the car and drove to Rhubarb. We experienced quick service with what we have come to understand as Dunedin humour and kiwi rub... ;-)

We ordered breakfast and coffee. We were treated with an optional 4 shot coffee - which we Melbournites took to be our typical double - double expresso. The coffee is was fully favoured with a lovely crema.

We have recommended Rhubarb to our visiting friends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGrumpyEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    37
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rude wait staff and expensive”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

The staff here are always a tad on the rude side - make you feel like you're not good enough to be dining here, don't greet you or smile, nothing.. The coffee is good. I like Luna across the road better - nicer staff and a great view. Not terrible but not exactly good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emahlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rude staff and so expesive”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Went to this cafe for a cuppa with a friend. Disgusting service!! The wait staff were very snappy and looked down upon us when we ordered. I had a cup of english breakfast tea... looked down at the eftpos machine to pay and saw $4.20.. that is appalling!!! the slices and cabinet food was small and also over priced at around $4.00 for a tiny piece of ginger slice etc!!! compared to other cafes in dunedin it is day light robbery. For the price payed i expected perfection in regards to service, food and atmosphere.... all were lacking greatly, the tea arrived with a dribble of milk to share and a gloomy looking waitress who did not speak, the cafe is dark and dingy... so unimpressed.... will NOT return :(

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HannahVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Breakfast Spot in Dunedin Area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Rhubarb is great! We have been to lots of top restaurants around the world and were very surprised to find such a nice breakfast place in Dunedin. I had pancakes with passionfruit and banana that were fantastic, and my husband had peach rhubarb french toast that was very good. Also, be sure to try the hot chocolate - it's delicious!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RP728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
156 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Salmon Quiche - yum - and lolly cake to follow!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Really enjoyed Rhubarb for lunch. Very good slice of salmon quiche, ginger beer and a naughty slice of lolly cake to follow. Friend had salad and quiche - additional dressing on the salad not necessary. Lots of food options that looked inviting. Good atmosphere and lovely location. Would definitely go again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhubarb also viewed

 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Rhubarb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing