We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nova

Nova
Ranked #10 of 325 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $28
Cuisines: Cafe, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cromwell
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Consistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

We return time and time again because of the location......we were going to The Regent Theatre....., the service and above all the food. The wait staff are attentive, and our water glasses always full. We have never had a lengthy wait before the food arrived. The portions are generous, beautifully presented and flavoursome. I enjoyed my Seafood Laksa more than the same dish eaten in Asia....the difference was the quality of the seafood.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cromwellwandercats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    182
    47
    24
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“I love this cafe/restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Great staff and service, great location and great food (breakfast, lunch and dinner). I really love this cafe. And the free fizzy water is amazing. All wrapped up in a comfortable casual atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KrisBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
214 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

It is a good little fantastic cafe to go along to for a fewm small meals or a coffee and cake, great service

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Reasonably smart but still friendly and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Set menu for graduation dinner very good, well balanced. Simple menu but nicely presented. Service attentive and friendly despite restaurant being absolutely full for graduation celebrations.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bargara, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“No more than a rather expensive cafe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Nova appears to try hard at being an upmarket restaurant, but gave me the impression of actually being no more than a rather expensive cafe. The location on the Octagon guarantees a constant stream of diners and the menu looks enticing. Our three mains for evening meal were all enjoyable - rib-eye cooked to order, a thumbs up for the vegetarian risotto and a reasonable portion of blue cod, but all sides are extra. Our bill of $120, which included a cider, a craft beer and a shiraz didn't represent good value, but apparently choosing to impregnate your own donuts with choice of filling is a bit easier on the pocket.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NickyP54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nova also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing