We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular spot”
Review of Nova

Nova
Ranked #10 of 333 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $28
Cuisines: Cafe, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dunedin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Regular spot”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

One of our regular eateries, good food and service at reasonable prices, the menu changes regularly with a good wine selection. Risotto is great, you should try it

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    193
    49
    26
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Enticed in by the good trip advisor rating on the door. Ordered a caesar salad (without anchovies), a couple of coffees and a pork sandwich. The dressing was basically an creamy anchovy sauce (that even my husband who likes them found overpoweringly fishy). Complained to the waitress who had to be forced to remove the plate from our table, didn't offer me anything else until my husband had finished his entire meal, and then didn't even give us an apology nor a minimal discount! Poor example of Kiwi service, and a discredit to our tourism industry.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NZgirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin B, General Manager at Nova, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Hi NZgirl17,

Thank you for taking the time to review what occurred when you came in for lunch. I have spoken with the Maitre d' who served you. I will have to point out a couple of differences in their version of what happened when you ordered.
When you ordered the Caesar salad, as you said in your review, you asked for no anchovies. The Maitre d' did inform you that there were anchovies in the Caesar dressing and asked if you would like a garlic mayonnaise instead. This is a substitute that all staff offer when this salad is requested without anchovies, as it is the classic base of the dressing. But you requested to keep the dressing, you also asked for extra dressing which the chef put on the side of your dish. The Maitre d' noticed that you had swapped dishes with your guest after you had started your meals. So she checked if everything was okay, you informed her that the dressing had too much of an anchovy flavour, but you were going to have the other meal instead.
About 5 minutes later you asked the Maitre d' to take the meal away, so she did.
Obviously anchovies are a strong flavour so should be avoided if you do not enjoy them. We do not have a policy of offering discount on meals when they are not to your personal taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good place with good atmosphere”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We called in one Saturday lunchtime and it was buzzing, we were seated and our order taken straight away. Food and coffee was fresh and good. Will visit next time we are in town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janmaddox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

After reading several good reviews on trip advisor, then seeing a sign on Nova's door which read '2012 best restaurant, Otago' I had high expectations for Nova. They weren't met, and I was disappointed.

We ordered the 'creamy' broccoli and blue cheese soup, which was neither creamy nor broccoli tasting, and the bread the accompanied it was stale. We complained... they said it must have been a new batch? We then ordered a porn bun (sandwich) to share... which was also lacking in taste and freshness. The bread was very stale and cold, and the meat was dry with little flavour.

On the flip side, this restaurant does have good service, and the wine we were served was lovely. It's just a shame their food wasn't.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jasonarmishaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Great place to Eat"”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We ate at the Nova Cafe after reading the great reviews on trip advisor and we weren't disappointed,great staff,fast service and the meals where large and great value.Would highly recommend for anyone looking at a great place to eat.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ralph865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nova also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing