We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“waste of money. steer clear”
Review of Huntsman Steakhouse - CLOSED

Huntsman Steakhouse
Price range: $15 - $27
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed January 19, 2016

now known as Barron's

would not pay 10 % of what they charge

almost anywhere else would be a better option

Thank ChrisChanMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterBDunedin, Manager at Huntsman Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2016

I am somewhat astounded by the review.
I have had one customer question a meal in the last 3weeks .
If this is the customer he was served a 230gm eye fillet which is a Silver product supplied via Khans. His partner was served a 200 gm portion of crumbed Blue Cod. Both meals were accompanied by salad and fries.
Both meals are in the $34 range.
The customer questioned the meat and was assured it was prime grade Eye but we did undertake to convene the customers concern to the supplier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 79 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2015

We went there because it was recommended by a friend. The look of the place was not very nice had a garage like feel. But the service was lovely.The meals were quick to come out. salad was a strange combination but the steak was beautiful. While we were there the roof had started leaking and it got worse over the hour so we were there. I felt really bad for the staff because they were so lovely.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cheesecomeatmebro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterBDunedin, Owner at Huntsman Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2015

Our sincere apologies - it turns out that the landlord had contracted a builder to replace roofing 2 floors above and they had elected to go home for the evening without replacing the roofing. When it poured with very heavy rain we were the last recipient after the store above and beside us had some of their stock destroyed - once again our sincere apologies for something that was totally unexpected and totally out of our control

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2015 via mobile

Pub style cooking. Waste of money,horrible atmosphere
Won't eat there again.Be very careful with this place,the salad was dry with horrible condenced milk instead of dressing.

Outdated furniture,very depressing environment
Please think twice before to go there

Thank 37Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterBDunedin, General Manager at Huntsman Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2015

Sorry about the meal.
We have made considerable changes and upgrade the decor and menu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2015 via mobile

This has to be one of the worlds best disguised restaurants. The surroundings and music is so bad it's almost great, the salad was a bit of lettuce and two olives, but the 200g eye fillet steak was the best steak, cooked perfectly rare, that we have had for years and at a reasonable price. I would go back again for the steak and the beer!

Thank Bejone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2015 via mobile

The steak was amazing. So tasty and cooked perfectly. The chips were good but came out a bit randomly, and my partner didn't get his mushroom sauce until he had already finished his meal. The salad was a bit average too.
The service was great though and the owner was lovely so I by no means want to give a bad review, the meals could just do with being a bit bigger and if all of the meal came out at the same time it would make a huge difference. However we were quite a large group so I can understand as its a small restaurant. A few small changes and this would be a great wee place.

Thank rknz1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huntsman Steakhouse also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing