We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced takeaway style food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asian Restaurant

Asian Restaurant
Ranked #63 of 325 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Overpriced takeaway style food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

So many people raedr about this place and recommended that I go there that eventually I did... and all I could not understand why this placr has a good reputation.

The best way to describe this place is that you are getting cheap takeaway meals at restaurant prices.

If I got this food served to me at the local takeaway shop got $4 I would be happy enough...but I expected a lot more. Especially given the ill deserved reputation this place has.

Helpful?
1 Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    41
    6
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Greasy and not delicious at all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

The decor is very old and faded. The whole place looks dirty and run down. The staff are not very friendly. Lots of items on the menu which is very oriented to western taste, lots of friend dishes, bland and greasy and not delicious at all. We were disappointed and did not finish our meal. Not good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best Chinese food in New Zealand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is the best Chinese food we have tasted in New Zealand and it was very cheap. We were amazed. I asked them if they would like to come up and open up a restaurant in Tauranga as they would make a fortune. We are going to visit friends in Dunedin as some time in the future and this restaurant will definitely be the first place we go for something to eat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Dunedin isn't tops for for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

After eating out a fair bit this week i can see why we set in a lot.
Our 3rd visit to the place was average with us choosing the wrong night on a Thursday as it was busy and waiters were a little slow.
Meals were just ok with a distinct lack of chicken and beef in the dishes, but still tasty as they arrived one by one
Strange the awful rice was the first dish to arrive and it rated as the worst ever effort at rice ..lumpy and stodgy and looked like leftovers- and no we didn't eat it .
So, this is off our list now of places to take friends or family .
The owner and staff though try their best i am sure at this lost cost place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank macfod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Dunedin classic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Great for BYOs! Fast and tasty authentic Chinese food. Very good value for money, good place to bring big groups.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asian Restaurant also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Asian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing