We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back to stay!”
Review of Quest Dunedin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quest Dunedin
Ranked #46 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We will be back to stay!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Greeted by friendly helpful staff. We were pleasantly surprised by the high standard of our room complete with washing machine dryer, and dishwasher and all cooking facilities. Spotlessly clean and well supplied with tea coffee milk etc. I recommend the Dunedin Quest to stay. We had secure parking supplied as well, and the building itself was secure. Situated by supermarkets and shops etc. Very central and handy to buses outside the door. Thank you, we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    63
    36
    8
    4
See reviews for
45
54
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights to attend a course at the medical school. Great location near the hospital and the octagon. Room was well presented. Reasonable price for what you get. Staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

stayed twice now in the last 4 months, perfectly placed in the inner city. Clean, well presented hotel that meets standards. Sure there are no views and bit of noise from road and night time, but we were able to walk from the hotel front door to everywhere we wanted to go and supermarket next door was bonus too,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToddMale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Perfect place to stay while away working warm, tidy and relaxing.I stayed in a one bedroom apartment and it was great.Very short walk to town and best of all quiet at night.I will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank downunder66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LC, TX
Level Contributor
68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This hotel was very clean and had a nice kitchenette, as well as a washer & dryer. The hotel staff allowed us to check in early, and also allowed us to leave our car there the next morning while we went on a guided tour. We stayed in a 2 bedroom that was perfect for our family. The location was across from Cadbury's. It was also close enough to walk to popular restaurants and other attractions.

Room Tip: Take note of when the management staff is available as this is not a 24 hour reception desk. Howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karol2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,088 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,594 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The Quest Dunedin is a very average place to stay, very basic apartments with no views opposite the Cadbury factory.The staff are not very helpful or friendly I don't think they care at all about the clientele. The rooms are clean but have no atmosphere or character, they are close to the supermarket and within easy walking distance to the Octagon the only positive. I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindakthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We chose the Quest Dunedin for it being in the "heart of the city"
well its not the hotels fault but the city is just depressing, the 2 bedroom apartment has views of a factory and is just not inviting. there is that horrible orange light you get from the industiral areas that shines through... couldnt shut the blinds quick enough. bedspreads looked like they had never been washed! we stayed for one night in April and most likely wont visit Dunedin on our next trip of NZ.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.0 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#40 of 61 in Dunedin
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#23 of 61 in Dunedin
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
97 Motel Moray
97 Motel Moray
#32 of 61 in Dunedin
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Dunedin

Property: Quest Dunedin
Address: 333 Cumberland Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Dunedin 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Dunedin serviced apartments offer guests a relaxed and comfortable Dunedin accommodation experience for overnight visits or for short or long stays, ideal for both the corporate and leisure traveller. Located in the heart of Dunedin, Quest Dunedin is within walking distance to Dunedin CBD known as the Edinburgh of the South with the best preserved Victorian and Edwardian buildings in the southern hemisphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Dunedin Hotel Dunedin
Quest Hotel Dunedin
Dunedin Quest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing