We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of Quest Dunedin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quest Dunedin
Ranked #48 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed December 3, 2011

I had assumed that, because the hotel room was quite cheap, this would be an old dingy place with small rooms. But I was pleasantly surprised. The bathroom was huge (just a shower, no bath). The room itself was also fairly spacious and included a little kitchenette. All the furnishings seemed new.
If you're arriving after hours, they'll put your key in a locked box that you can access.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dandy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 174 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2011

Central location, close to shops and cafes. Friendly staff and excellent studio apatment. Spacious carparking and easy one-way location to find from airport and to get out of town. I will stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank couldyoutellme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I arrived at Quest Dunedin having booked months before on Booking.com. The night I arrived England was playing Georgia in the Rugby World Cup so the town of Dunedin was very busy. Unfortunately there was no record of my booking and the receptionist asked us to wait. After a long wait she told us the Quest was overbooked and did not have the one bed roomed apartment we had requested. This was a blow as the town was so busy. I asked her if she knew any hotel with availability as she said we could have the Studio Apartments as they were still available! I was confused, why did she not tell us this in the first place!
The Quests Studio Apartment was good, it had a king sized bed, kitchen area and bathroom. It was very comfortable and clean and very convenient for the town of Dunedin.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tula45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

V clean. Quite modern. Next to supermarket. Few minutes to octagon. Opposite cadbury factory! Yum! But noisy with windows open. Not 24 hour reception
So you def need to let them know if you arriving after business hours. Fine for 1 or 2 nights

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caro8880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We were in Dunedin overnight for a family function. I chose the Quest as we've stayed in their hotels before, and this one was close to the venue. It was up to The Quest standard - modern, clean, comfortable studio room, all the necessaries supplied - kitchenette, toiletries in the bathroom which was spacious. Cumberland Street is a busy one-way road, but our room was well-away from the noise. The reception staff were helpful but didn't know alot about cafes in the area. The shuttle bus from and to the airport needs to be booked in advance - there are several companies and a quick google will show the different prices. We can recommend The Good Oil cafe on George Street for breakfast/brunch/lunch, and about 10 minutes walk from The Quest.

Room Tip: Towards the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cadarnle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

I was in a group of 4 women in a two-bdrm., LR & Kitchen apartment on 2nd floor. It was spotlessly clean & right across the street from Cadbury's Chocolate Company! The front desk staff & housekeeping staff were both helpful & sincere in wanting us to have a pleasant stay. Dunedin is a lovely city & the Saturday Morning Farmer's Market at the railroad station parking lot (just a block away) was outstanding. It is on a busy one-way street & can be somewhat noisy but the location is good & makes up for it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bax1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We stayed at Quest Dunedin recently and were very impressed. The staff were so welcoming and could not have been more helpful - not just on reception but the housekeeping staff too. The room was spacious and well equipped and the bed was very comfortable. We would definitely recommend for anyone wanting to stay in central Dunedin.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FMBHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#38 of 61 in Dunedin
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#10 of 61 in Dunedin
776 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
1.7 mi away
Best Western Dunedin
Best Western Dunedin
#18 of 61 in Dunedin
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
315 Euro Motel
315 Euro Motel
#17 of 61 in Dunedin
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Dunedin

Address: 333 Cumberland Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: $98 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Dunedin 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Dunedin serviced apartments offer guests a relaxed and comfortable Dunedin accommodation experience for overnight visits or for short or long stays, ideal for both the corporate and leisure traveller. Located in the heart of Dunedin, Quest Dunedin is within walking distance to Dunedin CBD known as the Edinburgh of the South with the best preserved Victorian and Edwardian buildings in the southern hemisphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quest Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Dunedin Hotel Dunedin
Quest Hotel Dunedin
Dunedin Quest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing