We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fully deserves its #1 rating” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bluestone on George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bluestone on George
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fully deserves its #1 rating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2009

We chose this accommodation solely on the strength of the tripadvisor reviews and we were completely satisfied. The rooms are still in "as new" condition and kept that way by meticulous service staff. Free internet in the lobby, free gymnasium, free in-room laundry and free parking at the front door. And it's just a just a short walk to the restaurants, cafes and many of the tourist sites in Dunedin. The staff are friendly, courteous and helpful. An excellent establishment.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    88
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
63
497
24
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2009

We stayed here in March for 2 nights and what a lovely hotel. This is two years old and has been very tastefully decorated, it’s modern and spotlessly clean. Staff are very welcoming and helpful.

The room was spacious and had everything we needed – including kitchen with a washer/dryer (powder supplied) which is very handy when you’re away for a while and want to freshen up your clothes.

The bathroom is also spacious and designed in the style of a wet room. There was a courtyard accessed via the patio door with a table and chairs.

Free parking and free internet access available in reception until 9pm. You can get wi-fi or broadband in your room which is chargeable.

Location is also very good – 10 minute stroll to the Octagon.

Would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing stay in Dunedin.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank y0dagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2009

This is not only the best hotel in Dunedin, it is one of the best in New Zealand, and certainly the best for the price. Well appointed, clean new hotel in a great location. On top of this, the friendly and helpful owner-manager team really made our stay. We have no negative comments whatsoever and will stay at Bluestone again each time we visit Dunedin.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DS087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2009

"Excellent location. Terrific breakfast. Large bathrooms with hot water that never gives out. I would definately stay in this comfortable hotel again

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esohwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
182 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2009

In short, fantastic accomodation, large room, great bathroom, was brilliant having washer / dryer and kitchen amenities i.e. fridge. Great location in Dunedin also, wish we could have stayed longer and off course, no question about it we would go back. Out of the 7 places we stayed in South Island, all were great, but this was the best.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carinna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

The rooms were well sized, big bath, washer/dryer and a minimal kitchenette. A dvd collection was available to borrow and free parking as well. This hotel is a bit of a walk from the centre of town. The rooms were expensive in comparison to other places we stayed at.

Would not return to this city - but if I had to I would try to get a last minute deal at this hotel

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oz_honeymooners09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
79 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2009

Before the trip I was aware of Bluestone's reputation from these forums, and it did not disappoint. We were in NZ for a couple of months and this was one of the best places we stayed in. The driveway is quite steep and may daunting, so getting to the front door is likely to be the worst part of the visit. Once you've negotiated the driveway, the centre of Dunedin is only a couple of blocks down the road. The nearby restaurants are cheap, good and are a quick stroll away.

Our room was large, comfortable, clean and modern with a top bathroom. Also included was a washing machine/dryer in the room, a very handy bonus.

As per usual in New Zealand, internet was extra, but the foyer had a public use computer which was almost always available.

Staff were efficient and friendly. The hotels clearly does not cater for families. I didn't see any children during my whole stay.

If I ever return to Dunedin you can bet I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpagia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.0 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
5.8 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#8 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#7 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#14 of 58 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluestone on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone on George

Property: Bluestone on George
Address: 571 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#3 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bluestone on George 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluestone is a small property owned and operated by its owners who take personal care in every aspect of the business to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience. Bluestone has studio rooms suitable for the single and couple travellers, or business clients, and is not a family orientated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bluestone on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluestone On George Dunedin
Bluestone On George Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing