We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bluestone on George
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We couldn't have stayed in a more perfect place! The hotel is new, the décor is both lovely and restful, and everything was quality. The couple who ran the hotel were upbeat and ready to help us enjoy our stay. Perfect walking distance to the Octagon. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheGoBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
There are newer reviews for Bluestone on George
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 732 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

This Hotel in my opinion is unequalled. Beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean, wonderful facilities, Lounges, Computer (with Printer), Courtyard with Tables & Chairs.
The pressed Bed Linen with Embroided Pillow-Slips was something else. Washer & Dryer supplied in each Unit.
Neville & Sandra epitomised their magnificent property.
We had overseas guests with us and they never stopped talking about this jewel of a Hotel in Dunedin.
Thank you Neville & Sandra for making our stay so memorable. John & Betty, Pam & Norman

Room Tip: We were on First Floor which would be hard to beat!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed at Bluestone on George for two nights with friends, great hosts, location is great.
The rooms presented well and very clean and comfortable, a plus having the washing machine .
Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne2578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in February and couldn't fault a thing. The rooms are extremely comfortable, clean and well appointed with a kitchenette, complete with washing machine/dryer. Although seven years old the hotel is spotless and beautifully kept by its owners, Sandra & Neville, who are justifiably proud of their motel. When we were telling the owner of a motel in Greymouth about the pristine motel in Dunedin he immediately guessed that we had stayed at the Bluestone - word gets around!
It's a short walk from the town centre where there are plenty of good restaurants to choose from and there are 3 breakfast/lunch cafes just over the road.
Dunedin is a lovely town with so much to see and do. One of the highlights of our stay there was our time spent at the Settler's Museum, although the Railway Station, Olveston and the Otago Peninsula are also definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocky081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had 6 nights here and it made our time exploring in and around Dunedin a highlight of our travels. Beautifully appointed with comfortable huge double bed, single bed, couch, desk in studio apartment - sliding door to small balcony and at the back a nice courtyard setting with outdoor tables and chairs shared by the 3 other apartments on that level. Good china and glassware in kitchenette, microwave, toaster and kettle. Own front load washer/dryer. Very comfortable lounge/small bar on reception level to meet with friends. Sky TV. Serviced each day. Beautifully appointed bathroom. Note our shower was over a large tub which even though we are seniors was easily accessed. Modern lift to all levels. Free wifi and free off street parking. Waling distance of Octagon area in heart of CBD and the Railway station. Would take the trouble to book ahead as they seem to have the "no vacancy" sign very frequently.

Room Tip: Room 202 excellent
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia3960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Excellent stay - just a short walk into the centre of town. The room that we had on the top floor was absolutely spotless, tastefully decorated and smelt so fresh - wish we could have stayed longer but they were fully booked. Both check in and check out brilliant, nothing too much trouble.

Would stay here again if I was in Dunedin.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arewereallythere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We found the Bluestone on George to be comfortable, friendly, and well-located. We loved our time in Dunedin. The staff at Bluestone helped us book a tour of the Otago Peninsula to see the Albatros Centre and penguins and other wildlife. We walked to the Octagon for a wonderful walking tour of the city centre. We also spent half a day at the Settler's Museum. Loved the vibe of Dunedin--friendly, vibrant (lots of students), beautiful.

Room Tip: The Everyday Gourmet Cafe, 2 blocks away, is an excellent choice for breakfast, lunch, or coffee.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.0 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
5.8 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
627 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.9 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluestone on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone on George

Address: 571 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#3 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: $136 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bluestone on George 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluestone is a small property owned and operated by its owners who take personal care in every aspect of the business to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience. Bluestone has studio rooms suitable for the single and couple travellers, or business clients, and is not a family orientated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Bluestone on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluestone On George Dunedin
Bluestone On George Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing