We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bluestone on George
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Always excellent”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have stayed at Bluestone on George many times and it is the only place I stay when travelling to Dunedin. The staff are brilliant, very welcoming and friendly and check in and out is always very easy and efficient. The rooms are beautifully furnished, are spotlessly clean and are really good value for money. The motel is very close to good restaurants and walking distance to good shopping and attractions such as the Botanic Gardens, the university, the museum and art gallery. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FIKWanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    89
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
68
507
25
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed at Bluestone three years ago and recently made a return visit. The good news is that things are as good as ever - in fact - I felt I was in a time warp. No discernible wear and tear anywhere (the place looks like it opened a few months ago), everything as clean and fresh as before, service as friendly and helpful as you could expect and overall as pleasant a place to stay as you will find. And the water pressure in the shower seemed to have improved, which was my only picky negative comment last time.

I had a quick scan through the visitor comment book at reception. All very positive.The one word that appeared consistently was "clean". That sums it up. Even the windows and balcony glass doors are cleaned as part of the daily servicing.

One new item in the room we had was a quality giant size flat screen tv (Panasonic) with a multitude of HD tv channels. It all worked as it should, with none of the penny pinching of other operators which wrecks tv viewing. I doubt that I would have had a better viewing of the Ashes cricket on my tv at home.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters - should be good everywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monifieth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Previous reviews of Bluestone convinced me to book a three night stay and we were not disappointed. The quality of the rooms was exceptional, as were the facilities available. A small kitchen meant we could eat in a couple of nights, and a washer/drier was great during our 4 week visit to NZ. For great facilities at a reasonable cost, Bluestone provides everything you would want.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davehols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel was probably, on a like for like basis, our top stay in New Zealand. From the reception to the bedroom what a lovely place . I suppose what was impressive was The Manager (Neville) cleaning up the car-park and outside area in general, on Christmas Eve and Christmas morning. To me that showed total commitment to his workplace, this was reflected in the cleanliness and appearance of the rooms. The Spa Bath was big enough to float a ship in. Free internet in reception,good video library and comfortable lounge. Top place to Spend a wet Christmas in Dunedin, Even the weather could not dampen our Afternoon Tea at Larnach Castle

Room Tip: I would imagine all rooms were as good as ours so pick any
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coniston53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
514 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had to wait a few mins for reception, then were shown to room 302. Large room, nicely decorated in light shades, big bed, sofa, desk, kitchenette with microwave, kettle, washing machine, fridge etc. The bathroom was small but with a big spa bath and shower over. Very effective heater, no air con. Nice view from a small balcony, and car parking on steep hill in front. Wifi 200mb / day free: we paid $18 for all devices (3mb) for our stay, but that didn't last either and we were charged for a second lot: it was very quick, however. The gym was small and had no treadmill, so we didn't use it. The hotel is a 15 minute walk straight into town, and there are plenty of places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PotterMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

The Bluestone on George Motel offers accommodation this is hard to fault. Set up a steep drive just off George Street, the rooms are stylishly and luxuriously appointed with spa baths, full Sky TV, laundry facilities in-room, wireless internet and a supremely comfortable queen size bed. The fittings are all of the highest standard and although the room we had was a studio it was still spacious with great views across the city to the Otago Peninsula. Only minuscule niggle was that if you choose to use the shower rather than the bath, the water ends up everywhere! Unusually for a motel, the bluestone also has a residents lounge and a small gym, although I didn't use it, preferring to explore the immediate area on foot; there are some good runs to be had from the front door. The motel is situated about 15 minutes walk from The Octagon which offers a range of dining opportunities (we enjoyed The Reef and Etrusca particularly); also well located for the university of Otago. Terrifically friendly and helpful staff, quality accommodation and great value for money; strongly recommended

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, CO
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Spotlessly clean, well located, spacious and comfortable. Gracious hosts. What more could you ask for? We had a 3-night stay in early December. One caution, the in-room laundry is a weird and very small all-in-one washer/dryer. I doubt it is good for more than a hanky.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrontRangeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.0 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
5.8 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
619 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
1.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.9 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluestone on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone on George

Property: Bluestone on George
Address: 571 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#3 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bluestone on George 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluestone is a small property owned and operated by its owners who take personal care in every aspect of the business to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience. Bluestone has studio rooms suitable for the single and couple travellers, or business clients, and is not a family orientated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Bluestone on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluestone On George Dunedin
Bluestone On George Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing