We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bluestone on George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bluestone on George
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Gore, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exquisite luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were made to feel most welcome on check in and the room was amazing. We were on the fourth floor and had a superb view of the city and this was most spectacular at night. The service was awesome and we really enjoyed the restaurant they directed us to. It is set back off the street so road noise was minimal. We really enjoyed the location for walking around the shops and to a number of fine dining choices. The luxury feeling was complete from linen, pillow choices and the oh so wonderful spa bath! OMG luxury at its best :) The room had been recently redecorated and it was tastefully done. Very comfortable bed and chairs, great to have the use of a stereo and a washer/dryer in the room. Great also to have an eco friendly policy within the room for recycling.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    88
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
63
497
24
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
433 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We always feel welcome at Bluestone, comfortable, close to town. The rooms are spacious and clean. The service is always good. Since it is set back off the street it is quiet and a lovely balcony for those beautiful sunny days. Huge spa bath adds to the feeling of luxury.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CraigandTania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

After travelling from Mt Cook to Dunedin, my partner and I had big expectations of the hotels in New Zealand. When I entered, I was greeted warmly at reception and taken to my room. Initially as we were walking to the back of the complex I was a little nervous because I thought that we would have no view and be looking at all of the other hotels. How wrong I was! The room was very clean and beautiful. It was as pictured and the view was of the city. The spa bath was amazing with multiple jets that you could adjust. We stayed in a premier studio suite and we wish we stayed longer than one night. There is lots to see in Dunedin and if anyone says one night is enough, don't listen. We rushed to see Cadbury World, Railway station and Otago Peninsula. We missed out on the castle and the other historic buildings. This hotel is a gem and if staying in Dunedin, you won't be disappointed. The room is clean, modern and as pictured.

Room Tip: Book early if going during peak periods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissEmilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We chose this executive motel based on trip advisor comments/ rating and were not disappointed.
This is a stunning property that really has to be seen to be believed. The lounge is a quiet oasis to have a drink and you can borrow DVDs from the little study which also has magazines.
Lovely friendly host. The rooms are spacious with a lovely bathroom. Four towels and plenty of products in the bathrooms ( between two people)
A luxurious motel worth full rating!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed one night. Our room was of a reasonable size & nicely fitted out. Bathroom and particularly bath was lovely. Close enough to walk to restaurants and shops, we did so in the rain. I had a comfortable night's sleep except I could hear some women drinking/laughing out on the shared balcony until well into the night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyoflux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

My colleague and I had virtually no expectations about this motel. We reserved it after a couple of people mentioned that the hotels in Dunedin are not up to international standards, and that we should try this up-scale motel instead.

The rooms are delightful. The bathroom has one of the cleanest spa baths I have ever encountered and this is a really nice surprise - most hotels neglect the bath-tub (so housekeeping can save time). The spa jets are strong and the tub is a really decent size - unlike the miserable little bowls one may get in other so-called up-scale establishments. Housekeeping staff are efficient and pleasant.

The reception lounge area is quiet and relaxing - with a lovely cat wandering around. We had a good afternoon tea there. Reception staff members are helpful and friendly.

OK, the driveway is steep - but if you are under 75 years old and reasonably fit, it should not be a problem. I am not young, and it makes me sad to hear people much younger complaining about having to walk "up-hill" to the premises. It only takes a minute from the street. Furthermore, the view from the balconies on the fourth floor are refreshing.

I look forward to staying here again in future.

Room Tip: If you want a view, try a room on the fourth floor. Cute small balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
232 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Motels are usually, um, ordinary and disappointing and you wish you'd chosen a hotel. Not so the Bluestone on George. It is everything a motel should be. The rooms are a good size, quiet, warm and exceptionally clean. The fit-out is crisp and modern. The fittings, towels, bedding etc are all of high quality. As if that wasn't enough, the staff are extremely helpful and friendly, the mini-bar prices are cheap and there are rabbits in hutches in the car park! Having stayed at some terrible hotels in Dunedin over the years, I definitely won't be staying anywhere else now on return visits. My only regret is that I didn't find the Bluestone until now!

Room Tip: Splash out and pay for one with a spa bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nesbitevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.0 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
5.8 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#5 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 58 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluestone on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone on George

Property: Bluestone on George
Address: 571 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#3 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bluestone on George 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluestone is a small property owned and operated by its owners who take personal care in every aspect of the business to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience. Bluestone has studio rooms suitable for the single and couple travellers, or business clients, and is not a family orientated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Bluestone on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluestone On George Dunedin
Bluestone On George Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing