We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bluestone on George
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in a studio apartment but were rather disappointed that the advertised kitchen didn't have a frypan or any other cooking facilities. The room was really just a motel room with a microwave and very small . Our advertised view was supposed to be a view of the harbour but was a very small "slice of a view" . Bluestone was well positioned for restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and check this upon arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyC46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 738 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel is fabulous. Located only a 15 minute stroll from the Octagon town centre it has everything you need. The room was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom with a huge spa bath. Everything was polished to shine and looked brand new. The kitchenette facilities had plenty of everything. The bed was ultra comfortable and the sitting area with the large flat screen TV was lovely. We had a small balcony with great views and it was nice to be able to open the doors and bring in fresh air. The hotel staff were delightful to deal with and went that little bit extra. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GiddyUp125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Bluestone is only a short walk away from good cafes. There's ample parking but most spots are on a slope so take care walking up when it's a wet day. The room we were in had a kitchenette, spa bath and good sized queen bed. Comfortable, clean and conveniently located. There is a laptop in the reception area with free internet access which was very handy. The family sitting area here is cosy. And if you're lucky you will catch a glimpse of the rabbits in their garden cage or maybe even pat Honey the cat. Will stay here again next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LooseFruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Bluestone really surprised us with the luxurious level of fitout. Really comfortable rooms with a wonderful big bathtub in the ensuite. Washer and dryer included in the little kitchenette. TV included all the Sky channels which was good for a relaxing night in. Lovely views from the French doors which opened onto the little balcony. This place is first class. Great friendly service. A not too taxing walk into town (Octagon) takes about 10-15 minutes. Plenty of eating options around. Would stay here again in a shot and highly recommend. Great value. Even has a wee gym although limited equipment.

Room Tip: There is a book in reception with dining reviews by other guests which is a nice touch I thought. Sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoNQCowboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Exceptionally appointed, aesthetically pleasing executive apartments!

Faultless!

Beautifully positioned guest lounges, with northerly and eastern views.

Exceptional staff! Extraordinary service!

Close to the university and great eateries including "the good earth cafe" and "the lone star" as well as fabulous florist "Joseph Jones" who also offers quality gifts and top notch gift wrapping.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staywise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Everything the independent traveller could want. Top class fixtures and fittings, studio apartment with terrace and views. Sky HD TV with DVDs available in lobby. Fitted kitchen with washer/dryer and all powders provided. A beautiful bathroom with a luxury Jacuzzi bathtub. We would have liked to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hierocles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We arrived on a early flight into Dunedin was unsure about getting into our room - they made one available for us which was lovely. The studio room was spacious lovely deck off it. Lovely big bathroom with lovely towels. The bed was extra comfy with Duck pillows very luxurious. The kitchen has got everything needed and all high quailty glass wear and plates etc.
The Managers were very helpful and friendly.
The front entrance has a lounge which was great for meeting friends.
We had two nights and loved the experience and being so handy to the main CBD.
Definately would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenSorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.0 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
5.8 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
633 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.9 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluestone on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone on George

Address: 571 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#3 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: $142 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bluestone on George 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluestone is a small property owned and operated by its owners who take personal care in every aspect of the business to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience. Bluestone has studio rooms suitable for the single and couple travellers, or business clients, and is not a family orientated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Bluestone on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluestone On George Dunedin
Bluestone On George Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing