We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bluestone on George
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is the establishment that other establishments should visit to see how it is done....and done properly! Everything was spot-on - the decor (lovely muted greys) the size of the room, the equipment ( washing/drying/cooking/coffee making etc) the bathroom, the linen, the bed, the staff. The walk to the other end of town, along the main street is very pleasant with many little shops and eateries along the way. Very enjoyable indeed - can't recommend more highly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kezza49_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
There are newer reviews for Bluestone on George
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 732 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

This boutique accommodation was one of the highlights in our round-the-world trip, it was so nice.
from the moment you walk into reception you are greeted with the most gorgeous and stylish property. We highly recommend this property. I posted a photo of the spa bath on Facebook at the time we were there because it was so huge, I couldn't reach the taps without climbing in!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank godoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and found it excellent. The units were well equipped - first time ever we have had a unit with it's own washing machine/tumble dryer; what a great idea. The units were immaculate and the service was warm and welcoming. The views from the unit balcony were gorgeous and the motel is well placed for walking down George Street to the shops and cafes, while the Otago Museum is just round the corner and well worth a visit. We would recommend this motel to anyone planning a visit to Dunedin.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have stayed at Bluestone on George on a number of occasions. It is very comfortable, well appointed, immaculately kept, excellent service - cannot recommend highly enough. Neville and Sandra are welcoming and helpful hosts who keep a lovely establishment. Helen West, Wellington

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This place is excellent and puts many chain and 5 star hotels to shame.

Rooms very clean and modern and lovely bathroom including spa in our room.

Takes about 10 or 15 mins to walk to Octagon in the Centre but its a pleasant walk along a main street packed with shops, bars and restaurants so not really an issue.

There is also a small kitchen in room as well as washing facilities so you get much more than a normal hotel room.

When back in Dunedin this place will be top of the list.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tartan_penguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Recently stayed for one night at bluestone. We arrived early on the off chance our room would be ready but it wasn't. I was happy to come back later but the owner suggested that if we wait for 10 minutes he would ensure the room was ready. He raced off to give the cleaners a hand. That's service! Beautiful room with a lovely outlook over the city and to the hills. The accommodation is set back from the street so it is very quiet. The room was immaculate. The spa bath was luxurious. Lastly, we encountered several staff during our brief stay and they all engaged in polite, friendly conversation. I highly recommend Bluestone to anyone looking for upmarket accommodate in Dunedin.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first level have access to outdoor terrace which would be great in summer.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed three nights in this beautiful hotel. Our room was equipped with washer and dryer and since we had been on the road for such a long time, we really needed that. The rooms were gorgeous, spacious, great beds, and quiet. The staff were all very friendly and helpful with places to eat, things to do and see, and just a welcoming smile when you returned from the day's events. The location is perfect for walking downtown for restaurants and sights. We are walkers and even though we had a car, we loved that we didn't always need to use it. Went on the Elm Wildlife Tours while we were here. Recommended highly! Would return here in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleG149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.0 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
5.8 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
627 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.9 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluestone on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone on George

Address: 571 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#3 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: $136 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bluestone on George 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluestone is a small property owned and operated by its owners who take personal care in every aspect of the business to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience. Bluestone has studio rooms suitable for the single and couple travellers, or business clients, and is not a family orientated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Bluestone on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluestone On George Dunedin
Bluestone On George Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing