We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As Expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bluestone on George
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“As Expected.”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My most recent stay proved, as expected, that the establishment is worthy of the complimentary rating they enjoy.

Modern, will appointed apartment (402) with spa bath, large flat screen tv and very comfortable beds met my expectations completely.

I would highly recommend this establishment to both business and recreational traveller.

I have stayed at Bluestone On George on a number of occasions, at least 4 previous, and have always been very happy with my stay. This, most recent, visit, is no different.

Room Tip: 402 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stannas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    89
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
67
501
25
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geelong Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Beautiful modern apartment style hotel in the heart of Dunedin. Our apartment had a wonderful view of the city & the most comfortable bed you could ask for. The hosts were fantastic and couldn't have been more helpful. We would definitely recommend this as the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_pair24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent 6 nights here in March for the cricket. It is a lovely place, spotlessly clean and very modern. The host and hostess were delightful and extremely helpful. Washing/drying machine in room and drying rack available. Internet access Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parky66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jindabyne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

What a great hotel, lovely gardens, well maintained, immaculate rooms and a lovely view considering it is in the heart of Dunedin not easy to achieve. It is within walking distance of anything you need - grog shops, lovely restaurant both cheap and expensive, good pub (The Bog) and shopping. The owners take a great deal of care in maintaining the property and it is as good as when we last stayed a few years ago. We had a medical problem to which they were extremely helpful and asked after my partner's 'experience' with obvious sincerity. Heartily recommend this hotel as a great place to stay. Wi-Fi costs were partway included and hugely appreciated by clientele that have a job and a business to run.

Room Tip: They are all good and moderated to suit your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Had a very pleasant stay here in early March. The staff were extremely accommodating and friendly and the overall standard of the property is very high. My room was comfortable , modern and spotlessly clean. The washing machine/dryer in the room was particularly useful. Although slightly away from the centre of the city, there were many restaurants within walking distance. It was reasonably priced and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter1naples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We loved how we could walk anywhere easily, and our room was clean, quiet, and well appointed. Host was friendly and helped us with maps and tips. We stayed on the fourth floor and had a nice view. Used computer kiosk in lobby for Internet access, and printed out some tickets. No complaints at all. A lovely place.

Room Tip: Our room on the 4th floor had a high peaked ceiling.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank flex_nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Two night stay on tour of South Island. Exceptionally comfy motel with view over Dunedin. 10 mins walk in to centre. In room washer/dryer extremely useful after 6 days living out of suitcase. Bought breakfast first morning in Dunedin but ordered very good continental breakfast (in room) for 2nd day to enable early start for onward drive. Could not fault motel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.0 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
5.8 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#8 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
1.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.5 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluestone on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone on George

Property: Bluestone on George
Address: 571 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#3 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bluestone on George 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluestone is a small property owned and operated by its owners who take personal care in every aspect of the business to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience. Bluestone has studio rooms suitable for the single and couple travellers, or business clients, and is not a family orientated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Bluestone on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluestone On George Dunedin
Bluestone On George Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing