We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible manager ruined the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bluestone on George
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We booked online and had planned to arrive in the early evening. Poor driving conditions meant that we made a number of stop offs to break up our drive and so were looking to arrive quite late at night. I called ahead from a country pub where we had stopped for coffee (at about 10.30) to advise the hotel of the delay and ask if there was a night concierge or if we should check in some other way. The manager I spoke to was unbelievably rude and hostile and demanded and we get in our car immediately and drive straight to the hotel as he had "already waited up for us and had to be at six am". I explained that we were unfamiliar with the road and couldnt guarantee how long it might take to finish our drive. The manager told me that we better be there before midnight and should "get moving". His tone through the whole conversation was unfriendly and aggressive - bordering on abusive. If I hadn't paid in advance I wouldn't have even thought of going to the hotel. Fortunately, when we arrived, grumpy-pants was no where to be found and we were greeted by a very helpful and friendly female manager. The room was quite nice (very good for the price) and the staff in the morning more than helpful and very pleasant. However my enjoyment was really ruined by the experience with the male manager.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
6  Thank Melle X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
There are newer reviews for Bluestone on George
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 735 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

Everything and everyone was super amazing. Staff are warm and friendly and they have everything you could want (jet tub, in suite laundry, exercise room, etc.) In a superb location. It's walking distance too all the bars, restaurants, and shopping.

I'll post pictures when we get home from our holiday.

It's really expensive ($210/night) so we stayed here for our wedding in Dunedin and stayed three nights.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pareunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

New, fresh & lovely...great location, views, warm & very comfortable-bed the nicest motel bed ever, thank you ;o) This is a lovely fresh, new motel & I would absolutely recommend it.

BUT if you're a v frequent traveller like me you get fussy! My three chief frustrations w any accommodation are as follows & all three were a problem at this motel;
1. No handheld shower device-the small water saver device is NOT saving you any water-I had to stay in the shower twice as long to try & rinse due to the silly misty spray coming from your fixed shower head-also v hard to get under it to rinse hair as its so close to the wall & the curve of the bath (yes shower over a bath.....) means you're some distance from the shower.
2. No nozzle on the hair dryer-if it gets lost, buy a new one please. It's v hard for women to dry their hair without it
3. UHT milk sachets for my cup of tea ;o( Spring for a small bottle/carton of fresh milk-your guests will appreciate it HUGELY

Overall thumbs up-will return

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WNZL0037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The room was huge, very nicely decorated, and exceptionally well-appointed. There was an in-room kitchenette, washer/dryer, a whirlpool bath, heated tile floor in the bathroom and lots of plush towels to put on the towel warmer. The staff were friendly and there was a laptop in the lobby that guests could use. Great location, short walk to lots of shops and restaurants. Lovely balcony to sit on in nice weather.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga_W_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I recently stayed here for 4 nights. Everything was great: the rooms are spacious, well appointed and with comfortable beds. The hosts are friendly and helpful. I walked into/around the city centre every day so hardly used my rental car. It is 5 minutes walk to Dunedin Hospital.
I would definitely stay here when I next visit Dunedin.

Room Tip: If you want a great view, ask for a room on floors 3 or 4. I stayed on the the bottom floor (floor 2...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JapanCustomToursNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Bluestone is more like a very nice boutique hotel. It is very clean and well looked after. Hedges and gardens are perfectly maicured. The location is not too far to walk to cafes, restaurants and city centre. It is on the main street but set back so it is quiet. We heard no noise from traffic or other guests. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the room had everything you would need for a comfortable stay. Kitchenette, microwave and washing machine/ dryer combined. A lovely bathroom with the shower over a huge spa bath. We found it ok to get in & out of the bath but it could be a problem for some. They do have rooms with a shower only. Another luxury is the heated towel rails and heated floor tiles with large, thick towels and good toiletries. Also soft velour bathrobes were so comfy to wear. You can order a continental breakfast (added cost) which arrives to your room in the evening for you to have at your leisure in the morning. The fruit toast is worth trying, yum! We stayed for 2 nights late October and had a very enjoyable and comfortable stay. We will certainly tell our friends about Bluestone. The best motel we have ever stayed at, anywhere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superma53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Bluestone on George and found it to be quite different from others we had enjoyed while traveling. The decor was simply elegant. We were able to access our room through the lobby and using an elevator as well as walking up an enclosed flight of stairs and then through a lovely patio. Our room was well furnished and the kitchenette had an ample selection of tea and coffee with a great supply of dish ware. Fresh clean linens on a very comfortable bed made for a great sleep. The staff was friendly and welcoming.
The only draw backs would be for an individual with physical impairments: the bath tub was quite deep and the hotel is set up on a hill so the driveway is steep. Although, other rooms may have different style tubs, the driveway would still be a challenge. We actually had a very comical moment with a runaway suitcase but we are both agile enough to catch it before it ended up in the street.
A morning newspaper was delivered daily to the door.
The washer and dryer was a bit unusual. It was one unit that both washes and dries the clothes. The clothing was well cleaned but did not dry well. This is a type of machine that we are not familiar and the outcome may have been due to operator error; although, we did follow the instructions closely. If your plan is to catch up on laundry while traveling, this hotel would not be the best choice but then you would be missing out on a very pleasant experience for the sake of a little laundry.
The location is quite suitable for walking out to dinner. We would definitely stay there again when in the area.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor with a furnished common area patio. Very quite, did not hear traff...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.0 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
5.8 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
627 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.9 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluestone on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone on George

Address: 571 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#3 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: $137 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bluestone on George 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluestone is a small property owned and operated by its owners who take personal care in every aspect of the business to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience. Bluestone has studio rooms suitable for the single and couple travellers, or business clients, and is not a family orientated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bluestone on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluestone On George Dunedin
Bluestone On George Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing