We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go elsewhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 61 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Out of 9 different B&B and motel establishments in the South Island we have stayed with in the last 9 nights, this was the worst.

This establishment bills itself as a "boutique B&B" in Dunedin and we found it in the AA 2010 Boutique B&B accommodation guide. The only reason I can see for its "boutique" claim is the building (Victorian era) and the attempt by the host to have its decor in keeping with the age of the building. At $120 per night, we found this overpriced and it was definitely NOT the most expensive place we'd stayed in, it is just too expensive for what you get.

The only good thing about this establishment is the host, who is friendly and very helpful with directions and parking vehicles. She has been let down tremendously by the house and her housekeeper.

1. Dogs barking when we entered should have been an early warning. These dogs were confined to the rear of the property and at no stage did we see or smell them. However, they barked constantly after 8am, which was a great annoyance.

2. There was green scum around the bathroom taps, which easily flushed out in chunks to float around the sink. The housekeeping is a problem.

3. The bed was king-sized but clearly created by joining two single beds. That meant a) a seam down the middle of the bed which could clearly be felt and b) the bed sagged in the middle. This was obviously not comfortable. The bedding was old and was not crisp.

4. The walls were thinner than they should have been and the floorboards all creaked. Which meant that any movement by guests in adjoining rooms could be heard. The plumbing is also extremely noisy so toilets flushing or sinks being used could all be heard through the walls.

5. The breakfast is continental only, with most of the condiments in large pots so everyone has to dip into them communally. There were no individual servers for those. Also, breakfast is served from 8am to 10am, although you can ask for it to be served outside that time but that has to be arranged the day before. We turned up at 9am (middle of breakfast period) and there was no fresh coffee, just enough lying burnt at the bottom of the drip flask for 1.5 mugs.

6. There is free internet access and a computer to access it with. However, this cannot be used after 10pm and there is no wireless internet access. The computer also resides in the entrance hallway, so there is no privacy.

7. All bathroom fittings were old in our ensuite, the shower water pressure was not strong and the shower fitting very awkward. The shower stall was also very small. There was no curtain across the window in the bathroom, although the glass was frosted.

8. The establishment is not only on a main road but it is also beset by very noisy students on all sides. So you also risk having your vehicle vandalised in the carpark (at the front of the Inn, which has no side access for cars), a risk the host herself raised.

In comparison with The Grange in Christchurch (that I have also reviewed), the two establishments are worlds apart (although prices were only $15 apart, more expensive at The Grange). Surely Dunedin can do much better!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albatrossinn, Owner at Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2010

Thank you for your kind comments regarding myself, although I am disapointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I do have some comments regarding your review.
1. Boutique seems to mean different things to different people. To us it is a smaller establishment which has its own unique style and guests receive more personal attention.
2. Yes you probably did hear my Mini Schnauzer barking when you arrived, he likes to come and greet guests and is not allowed too. He lives in my appartment and you would only hear him barking if he was left at the back door which I am not in the habbit of doing as he disturbs my neighbours.
3. Scum around bathroom taps, I have checked all the bathrooms and there is no evidence of this.
4. The bed is a super king commercial bed that can be zipped apart to make two single beds. It is less than 2 years old. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we will get a padded mattress protector to make the bed more comfortable. The remainder of the bedding is freshly laundered and less than 2 years old.
5. Most of our internal walls are double brick which keep the rooms fairly quiet and yes the floors do squeak and the plumbing makes the occasional noise, but the house is nearly 100 years old and most modern hotels have as much if not more noise.
6. We only advertise a continental breakfast and there are spoons to use in the condiments. I do apologise if I failed to notice the coffee was low. If I had been asked I would have made a fresh pot.
7. We do have free wireless internet and I again apologise if I failed to inquire if you had a laptop with you.
8. The bathrooms have recently been modernised and all the fittings are new. I have tested the shower and the pressure is good although if the problem had been brought to my attention on the day I could have checked it then. The bathroom is upstairs and if someone wanted to risk their life to climb up and look through the window they would not see much as we had special frosted glass installed.
9. We are situated on a busy main street as are most of the other accommodation properties in Dunedin. Our neighbours are not all noisy students, although we are close to the University and students do live in the area. Your car is not likely to be vandalised in our car park, although I cannot guarantee this, my car has been parked on the street for nearly 9 years and has never been damaged.
Again thank you for giving us feedback on your stay with us, it enables us to make improvements to the way we do things to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with us.

Glynis Rees
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 177 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2010

Glynis, our host, was friendly and cheerful and breakfasts in the inviting breakfast room were hearty. Our room at the side of the house was quiet and the free internet access was a real boon.

Overall however we were a little disappointed as from the web-site and other reviews we expected rather more. It is a lovely old house that now needs a bit of TLC. Generally the decoration was tired and there was nowhere to hang our clothes other than a hook on the back of the door. The furniture is old but definitely not antique as described on the website.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MooreDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Glynis works at providing a comortable inn with freshly made muffins and bread at breakfast however the building and rooms are seriously in need of an overhaul. The bedrooms are very dusty, furniture is falling apart and delapidated, kitchen appliances and utensils are old, there are problems with the plumbing and the location itself is on a busy and noisy street.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanandJulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albatrossinn, Owner at Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2010

We throughly enjoyed hosting these guests in our home and are very sorry that they did not bring these points to our attention, as if it was possible they would have been rectified immediately. Now we are left wondering as some of the comments do not reflect the reality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2009

Albatross Inn has apparently been renovated recently as everything is in good condition and looks fresh. We selected a spacious room that had a kitchenette, small dining area and comfortable chairs for reading. The large bed provided a good sleep. Breakfast was excellent with different sorts of cereals, fresh bread, cheeses, fresh fruit salad etc. The place is 20 minutes by foot from the city center.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seikkailija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Walking in the door was like walking back in time.
The rooms were elegant with lots of oak furnishings. The brass bed reminded me of the old movie "Bedknobs and Broomsticks".
A real bath!!!
Free internet access was a huge +
Fresh made blueberry muffins for breakfast!!! Was only there one night but would go back at the drop of a hat.
Lovely hostess, great local knowledge, recommended great restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

Large comfortable rooms, excellent continental breakfast - yoghurt, homemade breads, fresh fruit, jams, honey and muesli. Free internet access in reception. Home is in quiet area within walking distance of the University, the Octagon, the Railway Station or city bus stop is a block away. Host Glynis is well informed on the area and most helpful with recommendations on tours, rental cars, restaurants, etc.

Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
Thank pkelly52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We stayed one night on our trip to the south. The inn is in a charming old house, well maintained. It is close to the university, and city centre is not far, but we did use the car.
The friendly host gave us good advice about the trip to Albatross Centre. We liked the breakfast. Free use of an internet connected PC came in handy for checking e-mails and udating our travel blog.

Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Lucs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
768 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Dunedin
Best Western Dunedin
#20 of 61 in Dunedin
289 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Argoed Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
472 reviews
9.7 mi away
Silver Peaks Lodge
Silver Peaks Lodge
#1 of 4 in Mosgiel
103 reviews
7.1 mi away
Arden Country House
Arden Country House
#32 of 61 in Dunedin
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 770 George Street | North Dunedin, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range: $68 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character Bed & Breakfast. Friendly, warm & comfortable. Some rooms have Fridge and Microwave. Sky TV in Guest Lounge. Free Wifi/internet, Ensuites, Central Heating, Delicious Continental Breakfast, Great City Location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing