We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glynis works hard to please but this property needs some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 63 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Glynis works hard to please but this property needs some TLC”
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Glynis works at providing a comortable inn with freshly made muffins and bread at breakfast however the building and rooms are seriously in need of an overhaul. The bedrooms are very dusty, furniture is falling apart and delapidated, kitchen appliances and utensils are old, there are problems with the plumbing and the location itself is on a busy and noisy street.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanandJulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albatrossinn, Owner at Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 5, 2010
We throughly enjoyed hosting these guests in our home and are very sorry that they did not bring these points to our attention, as if it was possible they would have been rectified immediately. Now we are left wondering as some of the comments do not reflect the reality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    78
    29
    8
    1
See reviews for
31
83
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2009

Albatross Inn has apparently been renovated recently as everything is in good condition and looks fresh. We selected a spacious room that had a kitchenette, small dining area and comfortable chairs for reading. The large bed provided a good sleep. Breakfast was excellent with different sorts of cereals, fresh bread, cheeses, fresh fruit salad etc. The place is 20 minutes by foot from the city center.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seikkailija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Walking in the door was like walking back in time.
The rooms were elegant with lots of oak furnishings. The brass bed reminded me of the old movie "Bedknobs and Broomsticks".
A real bath!!!
Free internet access was a huge +
Fresh made blueberry muffins for breakfast!!! Was only there one night but would go back at the drop of a hat.
Lovely hostess, great local knowledge, recommended great restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank This_is_Beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machipongo, Va
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2009

Large comfortable rooms, excellent continental breakfast - yoghurt, homemade breads, fresh fruit, jams, honey and muesli. Free internet access in reception. Home is in quiet area within walking distance of the University, the Octagon, the Railway Station or city bus stop is a block away. Host Glynis is well informed on the area and most helpful with recommendations on tours, rental cars, restaurants, etc.

Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank pkelly52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We stayed one night on our trip to the south. The inn is in a charming old house, well maintained. It is close to the university, and city centre is not far, but we did use the car.
The friendly host gave us good advice about the trip to Albatross Centre. We liked the breakfast. Free use of an internet connected PC came in handy for checking e-mails and udating our travel blog.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2009

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Albatross during our visit to Dunedin. Hostess Glynis could not have been more welcoming or helpful. The Albatross is a fairly large (7 or more rooms) B&B-style inn located a few hundred yards out of the main part of Dunedin. It's an old house that has been modernized some. But we found it clean and comfortable. Our room was adequate in size and quiet and the bathroom was modern and efficient. The bed, in fact, was probably the most comfortable we had in NZ. The breakfast is continental but varied and was fine for us. There is Internet access. Parking is a bit of an issue as there are only three spaces. But Glynis will find you a place on the street if the need arises and it was not a problem for us. For the money and given the location, it is a great place for a nice stay in Dunedin.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cal_Prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2008

The Albatross Inn is located in a charming old Victorian house. We wanted just a room for the night and the manager was so nice to show us several rooms we could choose from. Since they all vere very nice (being freshly redone a few months before) - furnished with antiques, very clean, ensuite bathrooms - we settled for the smallest room. The breakfast was very good, including fresh homemade bread and homemade muffins. The next day we found out that we had to spend another night in Dunedin and asked the manager if we could extend our stay in the same room. There was some maintanance to be done in there, though (not our fault ;) ), so she gave us a bigger room with sofa and kitchenette for the same price as the small one. All in all, the Albatross In is a great "original Dunedin" experience - plus, it's just a short walk from the city's main attractions, restaurants and bars.

  • Liked — The authentic feeling about it
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Yuxl001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
5.6 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
722 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aurora on George
Aurora on George
#16 of 61 in Dunedin
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 61 in Dunedin
415 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 770 George Street | North Dunedin, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character Bed & Breakfast. Friendly, warm & comfortable. Some rooms have Fridge and Microwave. Sky TV in Guest Lounge. Free Wifi/internet, Ensuites, Central Heating, Delicious Continental Breakfast, Great City Location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing