We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Victorian Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 59 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming Victorian Getaway”
Reviewed November 25, 2008

The Albatross Inn is located in a charming old Victorian house. We wanted just a room for the night and the manager was so nice to show us several rooms we could choose from. Since they all vere very nice (being freshly redone a few months before) - furnished with antiques, very clean, ensuite bathrooms - we settled for the smallest room. The breakfast was very good, including fresh homemade bread and homemade muffins. The next day we found out that we had to spend another night in Dunedin and asked the manager if we could extend our stay in the same room. There was some maintanance to be done in there, though (not our fault ;) ), so she gave us a bigger room with sofa and kitchenette for the same price as the small one. All in all, the Albatross In is a great "original Dunedin" experience - plus, it's just a short walk from the city's main attractions, restaurants and bars.

  • Liked — The authentic feeling about it
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Yuxl001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    78
    29
    8
    1
See reviews for
31
83
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2008

We stayed here for one night as we passed through Dunedin. It's a large victorian house fitted out with loads of authentic victorian features. The room we were in was very spacious, comfortable and well appointed. There was a large flat screen tv, kitchenette, sofa area and ensuite bathroom. It's a 10min walk down the road straight into the town centre which is really handy for grabbing a meal in the evening. We really enjoyed our stay here, the place has got some real charm and the owner was really friendly.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CorinaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2007

Rooms were set out in antique style, but were poorly maintained which really let the place down. For example, there was a big hole in the net curtain, and bald patches of plaster where shelves etc had been attached to the wall and removed, but not then plastered over or painted. The electric sign outside also had a big hole in it.

No cooked breakfast available.

It wasn't terrible, but I didn't find it very comfortable - especially compared to the accommodation we experienced elsewhere on this holiday for the same price. There was complimentary port provided in the room, though, which was a nice touch.

  • Liked — Free port in room
  • Disliked — Shabbily maintained
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gillisfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2007

We arrived In Dunedin and found the accommodation quite easily.

We were booked into this B&B (the first on our NZ Tour). Weren't sure what to expect.

House is classical British Style from the early 20th Century.

Host was friendly and assisted with ideas for eating out and also good walks around the town. She was accommodating as we had a 5 1/2 hr journey the next day so had our breakfast prepared ahead of time.

I was happy to stay here because it brought back memories of my childhood in the UK but my wife was not so attached and likes more modern accommodation.

A very comfortable place to stay although as we stayed on a Friday night, near a university where there was also a Super 12 Rugby game, a fashion show, a Pipe and Drum Band convention there was quite a bit of noise that meant a disrupted sleep.

  • Liked — Old Britsh style
  • Disliked — Noisy student neighbours
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Thirko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aria on Bank
Aria on Bank
#6 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexis Motor Lodge
Alexis Motor Lodge
#5 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
7.0 mi away
Portobello Motel
Portobello Motel
#1 of 2 in Portobello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 770 George Street | North Dunedin, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character Bed & Breakfast. Friendly, warm & comfortable. Some rooms have Fridge and Microwave. Sky TV in Guest Lounge. Free Wifi/internet, Ensuites, Central Heating, Delicious Continental Breakfast, Great City Location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing